USA Wins Gold at World Wheelchair Rugby Challenge 2019

The World Wheelchair Rugby Challenge was held from October 16-20, in Tokyo, Japan at the Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium. The USA emerged with the Gold medal with a 59-51 win over Australia. Japan won the Bronze 54-49 over Great Britain.

National teams representing eight nations, including host country Japan, competed against Australia, the United States, Great Britain, Canada, France, New Zealand, and Brazil. All teams were ranked among the top 10 nations in the world.

This was the second time the World Wheelchair Rugby Challenge has been held, the first time was in London in 2015. It is anticipated that France will host the next WWRC tournament in 2023. Below is the tournament schedule along with links to the official website and webcast.

WWRC19 Results

Pool A: Japan, Great Britain, France, Brazil

Pool B: Australia, United States, Canada, New Zealand

Wednesday, 16 October

  • Japan 61-42 Brazil
  • Australia 60-46 New Zealand
  • Great Britain 51-44 France
  • USA 59-46 Canada

Thursday, 17 October

  • Japan 51-42 France
  • Canada 54-61 Australia
  • Great Britain 57-35 Brazil
  • USA 60-40 New Zealand

Friday, 18 October

  • Brazil 38-52 France
  • New Zealand 41-58 Canada
  • Australia 51-55 USA
  • Japan 57-51 Great Britain

Saturday, 19 October

  • 7-8th New Zealand 54-47 Brazil
  • 5-6th France 60-61 Canada
  • SF USA 49-48 Great Britain
  • SF Japan 56-57 Australia

Sunday 20 October

  • Bronze Japan 54-49 Great Britain
  • Gold USA 59-51Australia

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant