New Zealand Powers Over Ireland to Reach Semifinals

Top-ranked New Zealand beat fourth-ranked Ireland 46-14 at Tokyo Stadium, Tokyo on Saturday, October 19. The All Blacks led 22-0 at the break.

New Zealand will face England in the semifinals. England beat Australia 40-16 in an earlier match.

Match Recap

The All Blacks opened the scoring with a penalty goal by flyhalf Richie Mo’unga in the 6th minute. They added two tries by Aaron Smith, both converted by Mo’unga and a third by Beauden Barrett to take a 22-0 lead at the break.

Second Half

New Zealand continued their offensive assault in the second half with Codie Taylor taking a pop pass from Kieran Read for a try with Mo’unga slotting the extras. Matt Todd added the team’s fifth try taking a TJ Perenara pass for at try to lead 34-0.

Ireland got on board with a try by Robbie Henshaw in the 69th minute with Joey Carbery converting, 34-7.

New Zealand quickly answered back after Ardie Savea won a turnover at a breakdown and offloaded to Dane Coles to George Bridge for a try with Mo’unga converting.

Ireland followed with a Jordan Larmour burst down the left wide channel and worked the ball right to the post pads which resulted in a penalty try and a yellow card after Matt Todd interfered while offsides.

In the final minute, Jordie Barrett scored the seventh try for the All Blacks in the 46-14 win.

Player of the Match honors went to Beauden Barrett.

New Zealand will face England in the semifinals after England’s 40-16 win over Australia in an earlier quarterfinal.

It was not a day for the Irish as they conceded the most points and the most tries in a Rugby World Cup match. It was also the end of an era as Ireland captain Rory Best ended his rugby career.

Photo: Rugby World Cup – Rory Best

Squads & Match Preview

New Zealand: 1 Joe Moody, 2 Codie Taylor, 3 Nepo Laulala, 4 Brodie Retallick, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 6 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane, 8 Kieran Read (capt.), 9 Aaron Smith, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 11 George Bridge, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 13 Jack Goodhue, 14 Sevu Reece, 15 Beauden Barrett 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ofa Tuungafasi, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Matt Todd, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Sonny Bill Williams, 23 Jordie Barrett

Ireland: 1 Cian Healy, 2 Rory Best (capt.), 3 Tadhg Furlong, 4 Iain Henderson, 5 James Ryan, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 7 Josh Van der Flier, 8 CJ Stander, 9 Conor Murray, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 13 Garry Ringrose, 14 Keith Earls, 15 Rob Kearney 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Rhys Ruddock, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Jordan Larmour

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzere (France), Angus Gardner (Australia)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant