Scholz and Sorensen Award Nominees

March 24, 2016

Scholz and Sorensen Award Nominees

Washington Athletic Club & Goff Rugby Report Press Release: March 24, 2016

“March 24, 2016 – The Washington Athletic Club in Seattle, Wash., in conjunction with Goff Rugby Report, will present the inaugural Rudy Scholz Award and MA Sorensen Award for the best Men’s and Women’s Division 1 College Rugby players in the country on June 11, 2016, and the nominees have been release.

Two panels have submitted lists of nominees, and now the college rugby players around the country will be able to vote. College rugby teams are asked to convene and decide their team’s choice for the award, and then vote online:

To vote for the Sorensen Award (top women’s player) go here:
To vote for the Scholz Award (top men’s player) go here:

  • The Sorensen Award is named after Maryanne Sorensen, who was a standout player for William & Mary, and went on to become part of the USA national team that won the Women’s World Cup in 1991. She is a successful doctor, played at the top of the game for many years, and was also a successful coach.

Scholz Award Nominees

  • Aladdin Schirmer, Central Washington, Loose Forward
  • Anthony Salaber, Cal, Center
  • Bryce Campbell, Indiana, Center
  • Chad Gough, Utah, Hooker
  • Dylan Audsley, St. Mary’s, Center
  • Gavan D’Amore-Morrison, AIC, Loose Forward
  • Kevin Schofield, BYU, Wing
  • Lorenzo Thomas, Lindenwood, Center
  • Malcolm May, Penn State, Loose Forward
  • Nicholas Marmureanu, Navy, Loose Forward
  • Peter Malcolm, Wheeling Jesuit, Loose Forward
  • Vili Toluta’u, Central Washington, Loose Forward

Sorensen Award Nominees

  • Bitsy Cairns, Penn State, Loose Forward
  • Gabby Cantorna, Penn State, Flyhalf
  • Haley Schaefer, CWU, Lock
  • Hope Rogers, Penn State, Prop
  • Jordan Gray, BYU, No. 8/Center
  • Katie Lutton, UNC, No. 8
  • McKenzie Hawkins, Lindenwood, Flyhalf
  • Meya Bizer, Penn State, Fullback
  • Nate Serevi, CWU, Center
  • Nicole Strasko, Life, Loose Forward
  • Olivia Bernadel-Huey, Stanford, Scrumhalf
  • Saskia Morgan, Brown, Wing
  • Taylah Pipkin, Penn State, Lock
  • Tess Feury, Penn State, Fullback
  • Yejadai Dunn, Dartmouth, Loose Forward

The Scholz Award is named after Rudy Scholz, who played rugby for Santa Clara and won two gold medals in rugby for the USA, one in 1920 and one in 1924. A decorated veteran of two world wars, Scholz was a successful attorney and continued to play rugby into his 80s.

Two five-person panels worked together to create the list of nominees. Once the national voting is finished in April, the panels will re-convene to pick the winner from the top three vote-getters. The panels are coordinated by Alex Goff, editor of He can be contacted at

The winners will receive their awards on Saturday, June 11 at a ceremony at the Washington Athletic Club’s Crystal Ballroom at 6pm. For more information on attending, contact Wayne Milner at

For a more detailed fact sheet on the awards and college rugby in the United States, go here:

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant