Penn Mutual Varsity Cup National Championship 2016

February 27, 2016

Penn Mutual Varsity Cup National Championship 2016

Varsity Cup Universities and United World Sports Release: February 26, 2016

2016 Varsity Cup Schedule Announcement
“NEW YORK – The Varsity Cup Universities and United World Sports are pleased to announce the schedule for the fourth installment of the Penn Mutual Varsity Cup National Championship. With the addition of collegiate rugby programs, many of which are perennial conference championships and post-season stalwarts, the field now consists of 16 schools. Unlike prior years, no teams will receive a first round bye, with the schedule featuring eight matches on the weekend of April 9th.

Defending National Champions BYU is paired with last season’s semifinalist Navy on one side of the bracket along with ASU, Penn State, Dartmouth, Clemson, Arkansas State, and Notre Dame. Finalist Cal and last season’s semifinalist Central Washington pair with Texas, Oklahoma, Army, UCLA, Air Force, and Utah on the other side of the bracket.

The round of eight will take place on April 16th and the semi-finals a week later on April 23rd. In the final four, the higher seed will host the match.

The Penn Mutual Varsity final will be aired live on the NBC Sports Network on May 7th.

About The Penn Mutual Varsity Cup Rugby National Championship
The Varsity Cup is America’s top collegiate rugby postseason national championship. The mission of the Varsity Cup is to grow American rugby by harnessing the collective strength of collegiate rugby and collegiate sport in general. The Varsity Cup features the most recognized and accomplished university rugby programs in the country vying for the right to be named the “Penn Mutual Varsity Cup Collegiate 15s Champions.”

For more information, please contact:
Name: Mark Johnson Phone: (914) 831-6242 E-Mail: Website:

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant