Women’s Rugby Sevens Summer Olympic Schedule

July 5, 2016

Women’s Rugby Sevens Summer Olympic Schedule


Photo: Rio 2016 Olympic Games

Doug Coil

World Rugby has  announced the schedule for rugby sevens at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games. Both the Men’s and Women’s competition will take place at the Deodoro Stadium starting Saturday, August 6 and finishing on Thursday, August 11. The Women’s matches will be from August 6-8, while the men play August 9-11.

The 12 teams are broken into three, four-team pools. The top two finishers from each pool move on to the quarterfinals with seeding determined by the pool standings. The two best third place finishers from the pool stages will also move on to the quarterfinals.

The quarterfinals begin the knockout round. Quarterfinal winners will move on to the semifinals, which will decide the teams playing in the Gold and Bronze Medal matches. The loser of the Gold Medal match will win the Silver Medal.

  • A: Australia, USA, Fiji, Colombia
  • B: New Zealand, France, Spain, Kenya
  • C: Canada, Great Britain , Brazil, Japan
USA Pool Matches
  • Fiji – August 6 Noon ET
  • Colombia – August 6 5pm ET
  • Australia – August 7 at 12:30pm ET
  • Quarterfinal – August 7 4pm or 5pm ET
  • Semi-Finals August 8 – 1:30pm & 2pm ET
  • Bronze – 5:30pm ET
  • Gold 6pm ET

    Saturday, August 6

    Match No. Time (ET) Matchup Teams
    1 10:00 am B2 v. B3 France v. Spain
    2 10:30 am B1 v. B4 New Zealand v. Kenya
    3 11:00 am C2 v. C3 Great Britain v. Brazil
    4 11:30 am C1 v. C4 Canada v. Japan
    5 12:00 pm A2 v. A3 USA v. Fiji
    6 12:30 pm A1 v. A4 Australia v. Colombia
    7 3:00 pm B2 v. B4 France v. Kenya
    8 3:30 pm B1 v. B3 New Zealand v. Spain
    9 4:00 pm C2 v. C4 Great Britain v. Japan
    10 4:30 pm C1 v. C3 Canada v. Brazil
    11 5:00 pm A2 v. A4 USA v. Colombia
    12 5:30 pm A1 v. A3 Australia v. Fiji

    Sunday, August 7

    Match No. Time (ET) Matchup Teams
    13 10:00 am B3 v. B4 Spain v. Kenya
    14 10:30 am B1 v. B2 New Zealand v. France
    15 11:00 am C3 v. C4 Brazil v. Japan
    16 11:30 am C1 v. C2 Canada v. Great Britain
    17 12:00 pm A3 v. A4 Fiji v. Colombia
    18 12:30 pm A1 v. A2 Australia v. USA
    19 3:00 pm Place 9-12 3rd best 3rd v. 3rd best 4th
    20 3:30 pm Place 9-12 Best 4th v. 2nd best 4th
    21 4:00 pm Quarterfinal 1 A1 v. 2nd best 3rd
    22 4:30 pm Quarterfinal 2 C2 v. B2
    23 5:00 pm Quarterfinal 3 C1 v. A2
    24 5:30 pm Quarterfinal 4 B1 v. best 3rd

    Monday, August 8

    Match No. Time (ET) Matchup Teams
    25 11:30 am Place 11-12 Loser M19 v. Loser M20
    26 12:00 pm Place 9-10 Winner M19 v. Winner M20
    27 12:30 pm Place 5-8 Loser QF1 v. Loser QF2
    28 1:00 pm Place 5-8 Loser QF3 v. Loser QF4
    29 1:30 pm Semifinal 1 Winner QF1 v. Winner QF2
    30 2:00 pm Semifinal 2 Winner QF3 v. Winner QF4
    31 4:30 pm Place 7-8 Loser M27 v. Loser M28
    32 5:00 pm Place 5-6 Winner M27 v. Winner M28
    33 5:30 pm Bronze Medal Loser SF1 v. Loser SF2
    34 6:00 pm Gold Medal Winner SF1 v. Winner SF2
  • https://djcoilrugby.com/

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant