Chile – Canada Preview: Americas Rugby Championship

March 4, 2016

Chile – Canada Preview: Americas Rugby Championship


Doug Coil

Francois Ratier of Canada has made three changes to their starting lineup to face Chile. Canada is in a battle with Uruguay for second place in the Americas Rugby Championship. Should Canada earn a bonus point win and Uruguay win against the United States, but not earning a bonus point, then Canada would finish second in the in the Americas Rugby Championship.

Paul Ciulini will start at Lock and hopes to stabilize the scrum. Kyle Baillie moves to the blindside flanker for his first official test match. He did start against Argentina XV last week, but that was not considered as a test match. Cam Pierce joins Ciulini at lock and will also have his test debut. Lucas Rumball will play eightman.

Gordon McRorie resume play at scrumhalf. The remaining back change will see Brett Johnson debut at wing.

The match kicks off at 7pm local time, 5pm EST, with streaming details to be confirmed.

Chile has made six changes to the team, five in the forwards.

The starting front row has been replaced with Ramón Ayarza returning from club duty in France. Manuel Garruchaga and José Tomás Munita debut in this competition. Ignacio Álvarez starts at lock with Nikola Bursic moving to eightman. Captain Benjamín Soto will start at Flanker.

The only change in the backs sees Juan Pablo Perrotta at scrumhalf.

Kickoff will take place at 7pm local time, 5pm EST. The match will be streamed live on by Chilean broadcaster CDO, which can be watched for a fee.

1 Hubert Buydens (capt.) 2 Ray Barkwill 3 Djustice Sears-Duru 4 Paul Ciulini 5 Cameron Pierce 6 Kyle Baillie 7 Alistair Clark 8 Lucas Rumball 9 Gordon McRorie 10 Patrick Parfrey 11 Brett Johnson 12 Nick Blevins 13 Phil Mackenzie 14 Dan Moor 15 Brock Staller 16 Eric Howard 17 Rob Brouwer 18 Ryan Kotlewski 19 Clay Panga 20 Mike Hamson 21 Andrew Ferguson 22 Gradyn Bowd 23 Duncan Maguire

1 Ramón Ayarza 2 Manuel Gurruchaga 3 José Tomás Munita 4 Ignacio Álvarez 5 Raimundo Piwonka 6 Benjamín Soto (capt.) 7 Javier Richard 8 Nikola Bursic 9 Juan Pablo Perrotta 10 Cristián Onetto 11 Ítalo Zunino 12 Francisco de la Fuente 13 Matías Nordenflycht 14 José Ignacio Larenas 15 Leonardo Montoya 16 Rodrigo Moya 17 Nicolás Venegas 18 Luis Sepúlveda 19 Cristóbal Niedmann 20 Francisco Hurtado 21 Ignacio Silva 22 Beltrán Vergara 23 Humberto Chacaltana

The other Americas Rugby Championship matches include Uruguay v USA and Brazil v Argentina

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant