Brazil – Argentina XV Preview: Americas Rugby Championship

March 4, 2016

Brazil – Argentina XV Preview: Americas Rugby Championship


Doug Coil

Argentina XV Head Coach Pablo Bouza has made three changes to his starting lineup for the final round Americas Rugby Championship match against Brazil Saturday.

José Deheza replaces Rugby World Cup veteran Juan Manuel Leguizamón as he returns to the starting lineup from his start in round three against Uruguay.

Pedro Mercerat who accounted for numerous points against Canada, moves to wing from fullback. Ramiro Moyano who plays for the Jaguares, will be at fullback. He had been named to start against the USA, however he was injured during the captain’s run.

The match will be played at São José dos Campos. Kick-off is scheduled for 8:10pm local time.

Brazil have made four changes to their starting lineup to face the Argentina XV at São José dos Campos after their 24-23 win against the United States last weekend.

Rafael Carnivalle debuts at loosehead and Cléber Dias returns at flanker. Nick Smith will captain the team at eightman..

Lucas Tranquez earns the nod at wing, and 19-year-old Matheus Cruzdebuts at inside centre.

The reserves have two changes. Mark Jackson is a flanker option, and center Mateus Estrela also is an available replacement.

Kickoff will take place at 8pm local time and the match will be streamed live on ESPN3.

1 Rafael Carnivalle 2 Yan Rosetti 3 Wilton Rebolo 4 Lucas Piero 5 Luiz Vieira 6 André Arruda 7 Cléber Dias 8 Nick Smith (c) 9 Lucas Duque 10 Moisés Duque 11 Laurent Bourda-Couhet 12 Matheus Cruz 13 Felipe Sancery 14 Lucas Tranquez 15 Daniel Sancery 16 Daniel Danielewicz 17 Caique Silva 18 Lucas Abud 19 Diego López 20 Mark Jackson 21 Mateus Estrela 22 Beukes Cremer 23 Robert Tenório

1 Facundo Gigena 2 Santiago Iglesias Valdez (capt.) 3 Enrique Pieretto 4 Pedro Ortega 5 Ignacio Larrague 6 José Deheza 7 Lautaro Bavaro 8 Santiago Portillo 9 Marcos Bollini 10 Juan Cruz González 11 Pedro Mercerat 12 Tomás Granella 13 Juan Cappiello 14 Juan Pablo Estellés 15 Ramiro Moyano 16 Axel Zapata 17 Franco Brarda 18 Eduardo Bello 19 Franco Molina 20 Miguel Urtubey 21 Patricio Baronio 22 Martín Elías 23 Bautista Delguy


The other Americas Rugby Championship matches include Chile v Canada and Uruguay v USA

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant