Americas Rugby Championship Preview: Brazil vs. Uruguay

February 12, 2016

Americas Rugby Championship Preview: Brazil vs. Uruguay


Photo: Americas Rugby Championship

Doug Coil

The second round of the Americas Rugby Championship begins today as Brazil hosts Uruguay at 8:10pm local time (5:10pm ET) at the Arena Barueri, outside of São Paulo. The game will be televised by ESPN Brasil.

Both teams enter the second round after losses after traveling in the first round. Brazil narrowly lost to Chile in Santiago 25-22, while Uruguay traveled to Canada and lost 33-7.

Chile has made five changes in the Tupís starting fifteen. Yan Rosetti takes the place of captain Daniel “Nativo” Danielewicz at hooker and Joao da Ros who will captain the side starts at eightman, instead of Flanker. Cleber Días in turn will debut at seven. Also debuting are Wings Lucas Muller and Guilherme Coghetto. Lucas Duque will play scrumhalf.

Uruguay has made three changes to their starting XV against Canada. Los Teros lost their captain Manuel Gaminara due to work commitments and experienced winger Gastón “Tone” Mieres to his English club. They are replaced by Gonzalo Soto and Federico Favaro, who will debut for the team.

In recent matches against each other, Uruguay has emerged with the win. Brazil nearly tasted victory last week and will be poised to take the pitch against Uruguay in front of their home fans.

In other Americas Rugby Championship second round action on Saturday, Argentina XV plays Chile in San Juan, Argentina and the United States hosts Canada in Austin, Texas.

Brazil v Uruguay – February 12, 2016
Referee: Damián Schneider (Argentina) Assistants: Xavier Vouga and Henrique Platais

Brazil Squad: 1 Wilton Rebolo 2 Yan Rosetti 3 Jardel Vettorato 4 Lucas Piero Moraes 5 Luis Vieira 6 Mark Jackson 7 Cleber Días 8 Joao Da Ros (cap) 9 Lucas Duque 10 David Harvey 11 Lucas Muller 12 Moisés Duque 13 Felipe Sancery 14 Guilherme Coghetto 15 Daniel Sancery. Reserves: 16 Daniel Danielewicz 17 Caique Silva 18 Vitor Ancina 19 Felipe Tissot 20 Nicholas Smith 21 Mateus Tavares 22 Laurent Couhet 23 Yan Machado

Uruguay Squad: 1 Mateo Sanguinetti 2 Carlos Arboleya 3 Juan Echeverría 4 Franco Lamanna 5 Diego Magno 6 Gonzalo Soto 7 Matías Beer 8 Alejandro Nieto (cap) 9 Guillermo Lietjenstein 10 Rodrigo Silva 11 Federico Favaro 12 Andrés Vilaseca 13 Pedro Deal 14 Leandro Leivas 15 Santiago Martínez. Reserves: 16 Germán Kessler 17 Facundo Gattas 18 Ignacio Secco 19 Ignacio Dotti 20 Lukas Lacoste 21 Santiago Arata 22 Martín Secco 23 Alberto Román

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant