Rugby World Cup Final Lineups: New Zealand v Australia

October 29, 2015

Rugby World Cup Final Lineups: New Zealand v Australia


Doug Coil

October 31, 2015

New Zealand v Australia, Final, The Stadium, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, Kick off 16:00– 11am ET

Referee: Nigel Owens Assistant Referee: Jerome Garces, Wayne Barnes; TV Match Official: Shaun Veldsman

New Zealand’s starting XV is the same as the one that defeated South Africa.

McCaw extends his World Cup record captaining his side for the 13th time in the competition. He also extends the world record for test appearances to 148. His 22nd appearance in a World Cup match, McCaw equals the competition record held by England’s Jason Leonard.

The following players hope to win the Webb Ellis Cup for a second time: Keven Mealamu, Owen Franks, Ben Franks, Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Victor Vito, Dan Carter, Colin Slade, Ma’a Nonu, Conrad Smith and Sonny Bill Williams.

Julian Savea is the leading try scorer at Rugby World Cup 2015 with eight and should he score another will break the record for tries in a single Rugby World Cup.

Australia’s only made one change to the starting line-up that defeated Argentina in the semi-finals, as Sio comes in at loose-head prop.

Bernard Foley is ranked fourth in RWC 2015 with 75 points, behind Argentina’s Nicolás Sánchez (89), Scotland’s Greig Laidlaw (79) and South Africa’s Handré Pollard (79).

Adam Ashley-Cooper will face New Zealand for the 29th time, a record and holds the record for most test tries scored against the All Blacks with nine.

New Zealand Ranked 1st: HC Steve Hansen Starters: 1. Joe Moody 2. Dane Coles
3. Owen Franks 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Sam Whitelock 6. Jerome Kaino 7. Richie McCaw (c) 8. Kieran Read 9. Aaron Smith 10. Daniel Carter 11. Julian Savea 12. Ma’a Nonu 13. Conrad Smith 14. Nehe Milner-Skudder 15. Ben Smith Replacements: 16. Keven Mealamu 17. Ben Franks 18. Charlie Faumuina 19. Victor Vito 20. Sam Cane 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow 22. Beauden Barrett 23. Sonny Bill Williams

Australia Ranked 2nd: HC Michael Cheika Starters: 1. Scott Sio 2. Stephen Moore (c) 3. Sekope Kepu 4. Kane Douglas 5. Rob Simmons 6. Scott Fardy 7. Michael Hooper 8. David Pocock 9. Will Genia 10. Bernard Foley 11. Drew Mitchell 12. Matt Giteau 13. Tevita Kuridrani 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper 15. Israel Folau  Replacements: 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau 17. James Slipper 18. Greg Holmes 19. Dean Mumm 20. Ben McCalman 21. Nick Phipps 22. Matt Toomua 23. Kurtley Beale

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant