Rugby World Cup Bronze Medal Lineups: South Africa v Argentina

October 28, 2015

Rugby World Cup Bronze Medal Lineups: South Africa v Argentina


Doug Coil

October 28, 2015

South Africa v Argentina, Bronze Final, The Stadium, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, Kick off 20:00– 4pm ET

Referee: John Lacey Assistant Referee: Glen Jackson, Chris Pollock; TV Match Official: Graham Hughes

The Springboks have made two changes to the starting line-up that lost to New Zealand in the semi-finals. Victor Matfield enters as Lock and will captain the side. Ruan Pienaar is the scrum-half.

Bryan Habana has scored 15 career Rugby World Cup tries and is tied for the competition record with Jonah Lomu. He needs one more test try to move into second place all-time. He currently has 64 tries and the record is 69.

Matfield will play his 127th and last test for the Springboks. He is the most capped player in team history and at 38 is also the oldest player to represent his country in test rugby. He will also captain the Springboks for the 23rd time.

Pat Lambie could make his 50th test appearance for the Springboks if he comes off the bench.

Argentina has nine changes to the starting line-up that lost to Australia in the Semi-Finals. Nicolás Sánchez is the leading points scorer at the Rugby World Cup 2015 with 89. Sánchez will captain Los Pumas for the first time in his test career.

South Africa Ranked 3rd: HC Heyneke Meyer Starters: 1. Tendai Mtawarira 2. Bismarck du Plessis 3. Frans Malherbe 4. Eben Etzebeth 5. Victor Matfield (c)
6. Francois Louw 7. Schalk Burger 8. Duane Vermeulen 9. Ruan Pienaar 10. Handré Pollard 11. Bryan Habana 12. Damian De Allende 13. Jesse Kriel 14. JP Pietersen
15. Willie le Roux  Replacements: 16. Adriaan Strauss 17. Trevor Nyakane 18. Jannie du Plessis 19. Lodewyk de Jager 20. Willem Alberts 21. Rudy Paige 22. Pat Lambie 23. Jan Serfontein

Argentina Ranked 4th: HC Daniel Hourcade Starters: 1. Marcos Ayerza 2. Julian Montoya 3. Ramiro Herrera 4. Matias Alemanno 5. Tomas Lavanini 6. Javier Ortega Desio 7. Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe 8. Juan Manuel Leguizamon 9. Tomas Cubelli 10. Nicolas Sanchez (c) 11. Horacio Agulla 12. Jeronimo De La Fuente 13. Matias Moroni 14. Santiago Cordero 15. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino Replacements: 16. Lucas Noguera 17. Juan Pablo Orlandi 18. Juan Figallo 19. Guido Petti 20. Facundo Isa 21. Martin Landajo 22. Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias 23. Juan Pablo Socino

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant