Rugby World Cup QF Lineups: New Zealand v France

October 16, 2015

Rugby World Cup QF Lineups: New Zealand v France


Doug Coil

October 17, 2015

New Zealand v France, Quarter Finals, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales, Kick off 20:00- 3pm ET

Referee: Nigel Owens Assistant Referee: Jaco Peyper, John Lacey; TV Match Official: Shaun Veldsman

New Zealand have made four changes to their starting XV with Wyatt Crockett, Brodie Retallick, Richie McCaw and Julian Savea rejoining the starters. The team has 988 caps of experience in the starting XV, which makes this the most experienced team in a Rugby World Cup knockout match, and the second most in any RWC match. They also are the second oldest team at just under 30 years.

Richie McCaw will equal the record for most matches as captain at a Rugby World Cup with 11.

France have made three changes to their starting XV with Bernard Le Roux, Morgan Parra and Alexandre Dumoulin. The starters are the most experienced side fielded at this RWC, however, the starting XV with 553 caps, makes it the least experienced French team in a RWC knockout match since the semi-final of RWC 2003.

News of a player revolt against the coach has surfaced, however captain, Thierry Dusautoir has disputed this notion.

New Zealand Ranked 1st: HC Steve Hansen Starters: 1. Wyatt Crockett 2. Dane Coles 3. Owen Franks 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Sam Whitelock 6. Jerome Kaino 7. Richie McCaw (c) 8. Kieran Read 9. Aaron Smith 10. Daniel Carter 11. Julian Savea
12. Ma’a Nonu 13. Conrad Smith 14. Nehe Milner-Skudder 15. Ben Smith Replacements: 16. Keven Mealamu 17. Joe Moody 18. Charlie Faumuina 19. Victor Vito 20. Sam Cane 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow 22. Beauden Barrett 23. Sonny Bill Williams

France Ranked 7th: HC Philippe Saint-Andre Starters: 1. Eddy Ben Arous 2. Guilhem Guirado 3. Rabah Slimani 4. Pascal Pape 5. Yoann Maestri 6. Thierry Dusautoir (c) 7. Bernard Le Roux 8. Louis Picamoles 9. Morgan Parra 10. Frederic Michalak 11. Brice Dulin 12. Wesley Fofana 13. Alexandre Dumoulin 14. Noa Nakaitaci 15. Scott Spedding Replacements: 16. Dimitri Szarzewski 17. Vincent Debaty 18. Nicolas Mas 19. Damien Chouly 20. Yannick Nyanga 21. Rory Kockott
22. Remi Tales 23. Mathieu Bastareaud


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant