Rugby World Cup QF Lineups: Australia v Scotland

October 16, 2015

Rugby World Cup QF Lineups: Australia v Scotland


Doug Coil

October 18, 2015

Australia v Scotland, Quarter Finals, Twickenham, London, Kick off 16:00- 11am ET

Referee: Craig Joubert Assistant Referee: Glen Jackson, Pascal Gauzere; TV Match Official: Ben Skeen

Scotland have made four changes to the starting line-up that defeated Samoa. Ross Ford and Jonny Gray have both been suspended and will be replaced by Fraser Brown and Tim Swinson.

Greig Laidlaw will captain the side for the 21st time. He needs one more penalty kick to reach a 100.

Australia’s Stephen Moore and Matt Giteau each gain their 100th test cap. Adam Ashley-Cooper will become the third-most capped Wallaby of all time in his 112th Test.

David Pocock and Israel Folau are unavailable due to injuries.

Revised Scotland Lineup: Jonny Gray and Ross Ford win their suspension appeals and are back in the starting lineup. Fraser Brown and Tim Swinson are now on the bench. Kevin Bryce and Alasdair Strokosch are no longer on the 23 man squad for this match.

Australia Ranked 2nd: HC Michael Cheika Starters: 1. Scott Sio 2. Stephen Moore (c) 3. Sekope Kepu 4. Kane Douglas5. Rob Simmons
6. Scott Fardy 7. Michael Hooper 8. Ben McCalman 9. Will Genia 10. Bernard Foley
11. Drew Mitchell 12. Matt Giteau 13. Tevita Kuridrani 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper 15. Kurtley Beale Replacements: 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau 17. James Slipper 18. Greg Holmes 19. Dean Mumm 20. Sean McMahon 21. Nick Phipps 22. Matt Toomua
23. Quade Cooper

Scotland Ranked 9th: HC Vern Cotter Starters: 1. Alasdair Dickinson 2. Ross Ford 3. WP Nel 4. Richie Gray 5. Jonny Gray 6. Blair Cowan 7. John Hardie 8. Dave Denton 9. Greig Laidlaw (c) 10. Finn Russell 11. Tommy Seymour 12. Pete Horne 13. Mark Bennett 14. Sean Maitland 15. Stuart Hogg Replacements: 16. Fraser Brown 17. Gordon Reid 18. Jon Welsh 19. Tim Swinson 20. Josh Strauss
21. Henry Pyrgos 22. Richie Vernon 23. Sean Lamont

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant