Rugby World Cup QF Lineups: South Africa v Wales

October 16, 2015

Rugby World Cup QF Lineups: South Africa v Wales


Doug Coil

October 17, 2015

South Africa v Wales, Quarter Finals, Twickenham, London, Kick off 16:00- 11am ET

Referee: Wayne Barnes Assistant Referee: George Clancy, JP Doyle; TV Match Official: Graham Hughes

South Africa has made only one change as JP Pietersen’s returns to Springboks starting XV. Bryan Habana has a chance to become the Rugby World Cup leading try scorer. He has 15 tries.

Schalk Burger will set a new South Africa record being in his 18th Rugby World Cup match.

Wales has made 3 changes from their loss to Australia. Dan Lydiate, Gethin Jenkins and Tyler Morgan join the starters. Wales’ starting XV has 702 caps, the second-most experienced Wales team in RWC history.

Wales will have 10 players in this line-up from their first win over South Africa in 15 years, 12-6 in Cardiff in November 2014.

South Africa Ranked 5th: HC Heyneke Meyer Starters: 1. Tendai Mtawarira 2. Bismarck du Plessis 3. Frans Malherbe 4. Eben Etzebeth 5. Lood de Jager 6. Francois Louw 7. Schalk Burger  8. Duane Vermeulen
9. Fourie du Preez (c) 10. Handré Pollard 11. Bryan Habana 12. Damian De Allende
13. Jesse Kriel 14. JP Pietersen 15. Willie le Roux Replacements: 16. Adriaan Strauss
17. Trevor Nyakane 18. Jannie du Plessis 19. Pieter-Steph du Toit 20. Willem Alberts 21. Ruan Pienaar 22. Pat Lambie 23. Jan Serfontein

Wales Ranked 4th: HC Warren Gatland Starters: 1. Gethin Jenkins 2. Scott Baldwin 3. Samson Lee 4. Luke Charteris 5. Alun-Wyn Jones 6. Dan Lydiate 7. Sam Warburton (c) 8. Taulupe Faletau 9. Gareth Davies 10. Dan Biggar 11. George North 12. Jamie Roberts 13. Tyler Morgan 14. Alex Cuthbert 15. Gareth Anscombe Replacements: 16. Ken Owens 17. Paul James 18. Tom Francis 19. Bradley Davies 20. Justin Tipuric 21. Lloyd Williams 22. Rhys Priestland 23. James Hook


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant