Rugby World Cup Lineups: Argentina v Namibia

October 9, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: Argentina v Namibia


Doug Coil

October 11, 2015

Argentina v Namibia, Pool C, Leicester City Stadium, Leicester, Kick off 12:00- 7am ET

Referee: Pascal Gauzere Assistant Referee: Jerome Garces, Mike Fraser; TV Match Official: George Ayoub

Argentina has 11 changes to the starting XV which beat Tonga. Only Guido Petti, Pablo Matera, Martin Landajo and Matias Moroni remain as starters.

It is both the youngest side in recent years at just over 26 and an inexperienced side by Argentina rugby standards with 349 caps.

Namibia has also made 11 changes from their narrow loss to Georgia. Theuns Kotzé, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Tjiuee Uanivi and Chrysander Botha also remain as starters.

Jacques Burger is not in the 23 as he retired after being concussed against Georgia. He tied a team record with 11 Rugby World Cup appeareances. This record may also be tied should Johnny Redelinghuys, Tinus du Plessis and Eugene Jantjies enter the match.

Rohan Kitshoff will captain the side, as this is the first time since 2007 that Burger has not been the captain.

Argentina Ranked 7th: HC Daniel Hourcade Starters: 1. Lucas Noguera 2. Julian Montoya 3. Juan Pablo Orlandi 4. Guido Petti  5. Matias Alemanno 6. Pablo Matera  7. Javier Ortega Desio 8. Facundo Isa 9. Martin Landajo (c) 10. Juan Martin Hernandez 11. Horacio Agulla 12. Juan Pablo Socino 13. Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias  14. Matias Moroni 15. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino Replacements: 16. Agustin Creevy
17. Marcos Ayerza 18. Ramiro Herrera 19. Leonardo Senatore 20. Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe 21. Tomas Cubelli 22. Marcelo Bosch 23. Juan Imhoff

Namibia Ranked 20th: HC Phil Davies Starters: 1. Jaco Engels 2. Torsten Van Jaarsveld 3. Johannes Coetzee 4. Janco Venter 5. Tijuee Uanivi6. Rohan Kitshoff (c)
7. Wian Conradie 8. Leneve Damens 9. Eneill Buitendag 10. Theuns Kotze 11. Conrad Marais 12. Johan Deysel 13. JC Greyling 14.  Johan Tromp 15.  Chrysander Botha Replacements: 16. Louis van der Westhuizen 17. Johnny Redelinghuys 18. Raoul Larson 19. Renaldo Bothma 20. Tinus Du Plessis 21. PJ Van Lill 22. Eugene Jantjes 23. Heinrich Smit


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant