Rugby World Cup Lineups: England v Uruguay

October 9, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: England v Uruguay


Doug Coil

October 10, 2015

England v Uruguay, Pool A, Manchester City Stadium, Manchester, Kick off 20:00- 3pm ET

Referee: Chris Pollock Assistant Referee: Angus Gardner, Federico Anselmi; TV Match Official: George Ayoub

England have made eight changes from their loss to Australia. The team has 475 test caps, which is one of their least experienced sides for RWC matches.

George Ford, Alex Goode, Henry Slade, Jack Nowell, Danny Care, Nick Easter, James Haskell, and Mako Vunipola, will all start for the first time at Rugby World Cup 2015.

Care, Nowell, Slade and Goode will play their first ever RWC matches, as will hooker Jamie George if he comes off the bench.

Uruguay has made two changes to the starting line-up that lost to Fiji, Felipe Berchesi at fly-half and Mateo Sanguinetti at loose-head prop.

Alejo Corral will make his 50th test appearance for Uruguay should he come on as a replacement. Manuel Blengio, the only player in Uruguay’s squad who has not yet played at Rugby World Cup 2015, will make his World Cup debut if he comes into the match.

England Ranked 8th: HC Stuart Lancaster  Starters: 1. Mako Vunipola 2. Tom Youngs 3. Dan Cole 4. Joe Launchbury 5. Geoff Parling 6. James Haskell 7. Chris Robshaw (c) 8. Nick Easter 9. Danny Care 10. George Ford 11. Jack Nowell 12. Owen Farrell 13. Henry Slade 14. Anthony Watson 15. Alex Goode Replacements: 16. Jamie George 17. Joe Marler 18. David Wilson 19. George Kruis 20. Tom Wood
21. Richard Wigglesworth 22. Jonathan Joseph 23. Mike Brown

Uruguay Ranked 19th: HC Pablo Lemoine Starters: 1. Mateo Sanguinetti 2. Carlos Arboleya 3. Mario Sagario 4. Santiago Vilaseca (c) 5. Jorge Zerbino 6. Juan Manuel Gaminara 7. Matias Beer 8. Alejandro Nieto 9. Agustin Ormaechea 10. Felipe Berchesi 11. Rodrigo Silva 12. Andres Vilaseca 13. Joaquin Prada 14. Santiago Gibernau 15. Gaston Mieres Replacements: 16. Nicolas Klappenbach 17. Oscar Duran 18. Alejo Corral 19. Mathias Palomeque 20. Diego Magno 21. Agustin Alonso 22. Alejo Duran 23. Manuel Blengio


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant