Rugby World Cup Lineups: Australia v Wales

October 8, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: Australia v Wales


Doug Coil

October 10, 2015

Australia v Wales, Pool A, Twickenham, London, Kick off 16:45- 11:450am ET

Referee: Craig Joubert Assistant Referee: Jerome Garces, Stuart Berry; TV Match Official: Shaun Veldsman

Michael Cheika has made three changes from the team that defeated England. Sean McMahon replaces the suspended Michael Hooper at Flanker, while Drew Mitchell replaces the injured Rob Horne on the wing. Dean Mumm also starts at Lock.

Warren Gatland has made six changes to the starting line-up that defeated Fiji.

George North will start at outside center for the third time in his test career. Gareth Anscombe will make his World Cup debut at fullback. There are also four forward changes.

While both teams will be in the Quarterfinals, the loser will have a much tougher match against surging South Africa.

Australia Ranked 2nd: HC Michael Cheika  Starters: 1. Scott Sio 2. Stephen Moore (c) 3. Sekope Kepu 4. Kane Douglas 5. Dean Mumm 6. Scott Fardy 7. Sean McMahon 8. David Pocock 9. Will Genia 10. Bernard Foley 11. Drew Mitchell 12. Matt Giteau 13. Tevita Kuridrani 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper 15. Israel Folau Replacements: 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau 17. James Slipper 18. Greg Holmes 19. Rob Simmons 20. Ben McCalman 21. Nick Phipps 22. Matt Toomua 23. Kurtley Beale

Wales Ranked 3rd: HC Warren Gatland Starters: 1. Paul James 2. Scott Baldwin 3. Samson Lee 4. Luke Charteris 5. Alun Wyn Jones 6. Sam Warburton (c) 7. Justin Tipuric 8. Taulupe Faletau 9. Gareth Davies 10. Dan Biggar 11. Liam Williams 12. Jamie Roberts 13. George North 14. Alex Cuthbert 15. Gareth Anscombe Replacements: 16. Ken Owens 17. Aaron Jarvis 18. Tom Francis 19. Jake Ball 20. Ross Moriarty 21. Lloyd Williams 22. Rhys Priestland 23. James Hook


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant