Rugby World Cup Lineups: Namibia v Georgia

October 5, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: Namibia v Georgia


Doug Coil

October 7, 2015

Namibia v Georgia, Pool C, Sandy Park, Exeter, Kick off 20:00 – 3pm ET

Referee: George Clancy Assistant Referee: Romain Poite, Stuart Berry; TV Match Official: Shaun Veldsman

Namibia’s side will be their most experienced and oldest side. The starting XV has 398 test caps over 100 caps more than their previous most Rugby World Cup line-up. They also average slightly over 29 years.

There are six changes from their loss to Tonga. Forwards include, Johnny Redelinghuys at loosehead prop, PJ Van Lill at Lock, and Tinus Du Plessis at Flanker. Backs include, Eugene Jantjies at scrum-half, Darryl De La Harpe in the centers, and David Philander on the wing.

This match will feature Johnny Redelinghuys earning his 50th cap, the first Namibian player to do so.

Georgia has made ten changes from the loss against New Zealand. They will be starting their least experienced side, but still have 693 caps. The forwards have all been rotated, with the exception of their captain and inspirational leader, Mamuka Gorgodze.

The backs see the return of Vasil Lobzhanidze at scrum-half, Merab Sharikadze at inside center and Merab Kvirikashvili at full-back.

Merab Kvirikashvili will gain his 88th cap and he is already Georgia’s point leader. He will also play his 15th World Cup match, becoming only the second Tier 2 player to do so. Brian Lima played 18 matches for Samoa in five World Cups.

Namibia Ranked 20th: HC Phil Davies Starters: 1. Johnny Redelinghuys 2. Torsten Van Jaarsveld 3. Raoul Larson 4. PJ Van Lill 5. Tijuee Uanivi 6. Jacques Burger 7. Tinus Du Plessis 8. Renaldo Bothma 9. Eugene Jantjes 10. Theuns Kotze 11. Russel Van Wyk 12. Darryl De La Harpe 13. Danie Van Wyk 14.  David Philander 15.  Chrysander Botha Replacements: 16. Louis van der Westhuizen 17. Jaco Engels 18. Johannes Coetzee 19. Wian Conradie 20. Rohan Kitsoff 21. Johan Tromp 22. Damian Stevens 23. Heinrich Smit

Georgia Ranked 15th: HC Milton Haig Starters: 1. Mikheil Nariashvili 2. Jaba Bregvadze 3. Davit Zirakashvili 4. Giorgi Nemsadze 5. Konstantine Mikautadze 6. Giorgi Tkhilaishvili 7. Viktor Kolelishvili 8. Mamuka Gorgodze (c) 9. Vasil Lobzhanidze 10. Lasha Malaguradze 11. Alexander Todua 12. Merab Sharikadze
13. Davit Kacharava 14. Tamaz Mchedlidze 15. Merab Kvirikashvili Replacements: 16. Shalva Mamukashvili 17. Karlen Asieshvili 18. Anton Peikrishvili 19. Levan Datunashvili 20. Lasha Lomidze 21. Giorgi Begadze 22. Giorgi Aptsiauri 23. Beka Tsiklauri


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant