Rugby World Cup Lineups: Argentina v Tonga

October 2, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: Argentina v Tonga


Doug Coil

October 4, 2015

Argentina v Tonga, Pool C, Leicester City Stadium, Leicester, Kick off 14:30 – 9:30am ET

Referee: Jaco Peyper; Assistant Referee: Glen Jackson, Mike Fraser; TV Match Official: Ben Skeen

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has made made seven changes to the team which beat Georgia. Guido Petti, Tomas Lavanini, Pablo Matera and Leonardo Senatore return again as starters in which they played against New Zealand. Jeronimo De la Fuente and Matias Moroni  come in as centers, while Ramiro Herrera starts at Tighthead prop.

The front row trio of Marcos Ayerza, Agustin Creevy and Ramiro Herrera is the coach’s preferred front row for key matches.

Juan Imhoff, wing, has 4 RWC tries and his next will become the leading Argentina RWC all-time try scorer.

Argentina is fielding one of their youngest teams at under 27 years.

Tonga have named the oldest team in Rugby World Cup history, with a starting XV whose average age is 31 years and 38 days. The team is also their most experienced with 349 caps.

Mana Otai has made six changes from their win against Namibia. Forward changes include, Elvis Taoine at Hooker, Halani ‘Aulika at Tighthead Prop, Tukulua Lokotui at Lock and Tonga’s most capped player and captain, Nili Latu returns at Flanker. The two backs changes are Tonga’s leading points scorer, Kurt Morath, and Fetu’u Vainikolo at Wing.

Fetu’u Vainikolo is now tops the list of Tongan try scorers. Vungakoto Lilo, becomes tied as the second most capped Tongan player of all time at 41 caps. He is also closing in as the all-time second place Tongan try scorer, needing two more tries.

Argentina Ranked 8th: HC  Daniel Hourcade Starters: 1. Marcos Ayerza 2. Agustin Creevy (c) 3. Ramiro Herrera 4. Guido Petti 5. Tomas Lavanini 6. Pablo Matera 7. Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe 8. Leonardo Senatore 9. Martin Landajo 10. Nicolas Sanchez 11. Juan Imhoff 12. Jeronimo De La Fuente 13. Matias Moroni 14. Santiago Cordero 15. Joaquin Tuculet Replacements: 16. Julian Montoya 17. Lucas Noguera 18. Juan Pablo Orlandi 19. Matias Alemanno 20. Juan Manuel Leguizamon 21. Tomas Cubelli 22. Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias 23. Horacio Agulla

Tonga Ranked 13th: HC Mana Otai Starters: 1. Soane Tonga’uiha 2. Elvis Taione 3. Halani ‘Aulika 4. Tukulua Lokotui 5. Joseph Tuineau 6. Sione Kalamafoni 7. Nili Latu (c) 8. Viliami Ma’afu 9. Sonatane Takulua 10. Kurt Morath 11. Fetu’u Vainikolo 12. Sione Piukala 13. Siale Piutau 14. Telusa Veainu 15. Vungakoto Lilo Replacements: 16. Aleki Lutui 17. Sona Taumalolo 18. Sila Puafisi 19. Sitiveni Mafi 20. Opeti Fonua 21. Samisoni Fisilau 22. Latiume Fosita 23. David Halaifonua


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant