Rugby World Cup Lineups: South Africa v Scotland

October 1, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: South Africa v Scotland


Doug Coil

October 3, 2015

South Africa v Scotland, Pool B, St James Park, Newcastle upon Tyne, Kick off 16:45 – 11;45am ET

Referee: Nigel Owens; Assistant Referee: Chris Pollock, Leighton Hodges; TV Match Official: George Ayoub

The Springboks have made three changes from their win against Samoa. Bismarck du Plessis comes in at hooker, Lodewyk de Jager at Lock and Jesse Kriel at outside-centre. Fourie Du Preez replaces Jean de Villiers, who was injured and out for the rest of the Rugby World Cup.

Scotland fields a young team that averages around 27 years of age. They are also a less experienced team with 330 caps, about half of South Africa’s total.Scotland has made 11 changes from the team that won against the United States. Only Richie Gray and Josh Strauss remain, while Blair Cowan, an injury replacement for Grant Gilchrist, comes into the side.

Richie Gray will win his 50th test cap, while Alasdair Dickinson will also if he enters the match. Greig Laidlaw needs seven points to reach 400 test points.

South Africa Ranked 5th: HC  Heyneke Meyer Starters: 1. Tendai Mtawarira 2. Bismarck Du Plessis 3. Jannie Du Plessis 4. Eben Etzebeth 5. Lodewyk De Jager 6. Francois Louw 7. Schalk Burger 8. Duane Vermeulen 9. Fourie Du Preez (c) 10. Handre Pollard 11. Bryan Habana 12. Damian De Allende 13. Jesse Kriel 14. JP Pietersen 15. Willie Le Roux Replacements: 16. Adriaan Strauss 17. Trevor Nyakane 18. Frans Malherbe 19. Pieter-Steph Du Toit 20. Willem Alberts 21. Ruan Pienaar 22. Pat Lambie 23. Jan Serfontein

Scotland Ranked 9th: HC Vern Cotter Starters: 1. Gordon Reid 2. Fraser Brown 3. WP Nel 4. Richie Gray 5. Jonny Gray 6. Josh Strauss 7. Blair Cowan 8. Dave Denton 9. Greig Laidlaw (c) 10. Duncan Weir 11. Tim Visser 12. Matt Scott 13. Richie Vernon 14. Tommy Seymour 15. Stuart Hogg Replacements: 16. Ross Ford 17. Alasdair Dickinson 18. Jon Welsh 19. Tim Swinson 20. Ryan Wilson 21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne 22. Pete Horne 23. Sean Lamont


About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant