Rugby World Cup Lineups: England v Wales

September 25, 2015

Rugby World Cup Lineups: England v Wales


Doug Coil

September 26, 2015

England v Wales, Pool A, Twickenham, London, Kickoff 20:00 – 3pm ET

Referee: Jerome Garces; Assistant Referee: Romain Poite, Mathieu Raynal; TV Match Official: Shaun Veldsman

England made midfiled changes from their win over Fiji with Farrell starting at Flyhalf and Burgess coming in at inside center, while Barritt moves to ouside replacing the injured Jonathan Joseph. Billy Vunipola comes in at number eight for Ben Morgan who is still bothered by a knee injury. James Haskell and Alex Goode join the reserves for the first time.

Wales makes 9 changes from their win over Uruguay. Scott Baldwin, Sam Warburton, Gareth Davies, Hallam Amos, Scott Williams and Liam Williams join the starters. Gethin Jenkins plays in his 4th Rugby World Cup, equally a team record.

“Taulupe Faletau will win his 50th Test cap (49th for Wales and one for the British & Irish Lions). At 24 years and 318 days of age, he becomes the eighth youngest player in test history to reach the half century.” (RWC)

This is a key match for both sides. The winner will likely advance to the Cup Quarterfinals, while the loser will need to get by Australia. Enough motivation for each.

England Ranked 3rd: HC Stuart Lancaster Starters: 1. Joe Marler  2. Tom Youngs   3. Dan Cole 4. Geoff Parling 5. Courtney Lawes 6. Tom Wood 7. Chris Robshaw (c)
8. Billy Vunipola 9. Ben Youngs 10. Owen Farrell 11. Jonny May 12. Sam Burgess
13. Brad Barritt 14. Anthony Watson 15. Mike Brown Replacements: 16. Rob Webber (H) 17. Mako Vunipola (P) 18. Kieran Brookes (P) 19. Joe Launchbury (L) 20. James Haskell (F) 21. Richard Wigglesworth (SH) 22. George Ford (FH) 23. Alex Goode (FB)

Wales Ranked 4th: HC Warren Gatland Starters: 1. Gethin Jenkins 2. Scott Baldwin 3. Tom Francis 4. Bradley Davies 5. Alun Wyn Jones 6. Dan Lydiate
7. Sam Warburton (c) 8. Taulupe Faletau 9. Gareth Davies 10. Dan Biggar
11. Hallam Amos 12. Jamie Roberts 13. Scott Williams 14. George North
15. Liam Williams Replacements: 16. Ken Owens (H) 17. Aaron Jarvis (P) 18. Samson Lee (P) 19. Luke Charteris (L) 20. Justin Tipuric (F) 21. Lloyd Williams (SH) 22. Rhys Priestland (FH) 23. Alex Cuthbert (W)

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant