Rugby World Cup Argentina vs. Georgia Sep 25, 2015

September 23, 2015

Rugby World Cup Argentina vs. Georgia Sep 25, 2015


Doug Coil

September 25, 2015 (Friday)

Argentina v Georgia, Pool C, Kingsholm, Gloucester, Kickoff 16:45 – 11:45 ET

Referee: JP Doyle Ass’t Ref: Nigel Owens, Stuart Berry TV Match Official: Ben Skeen

In round one of Pool play Argentina lost 26-16 to New Zealand, while Georgia beat Tonga 17-10.

Argentina has beaten Georgia in the 3 previous Rugby World Cup matches that they played. Most recently in 2011, they won 29-18.

Argentina enters this match making 3 changes to the forwards from their first match. Matias Alemanno, Juan Manuel Leguizamon and Facundo Isa will start.

Mariano Galarza of Argentina has been suspended for nine weeks for ‘acts contrary to good sportsmanship’ contrary to Law 10.4(m). He was cited for making contact with the eye/eye area of Brodie Retallick of New Zealand in their first match. The suspension takes effect immediately and will impact the remaining World Cup matches and then matches with his club, Gloucester until November 26, 2015.

Georgia has decided to continue a lineup that brought them success in their fist match against Tonga. Georgia’s starters have a combined 632 caps, its most experienced team ever at a Rugby World Cup. This will be another physical match and Argentina is not taking this team lightly with their limited changes.

Argentina Ranked 8th: HC Daniel Hourcade Starters: 1 Marcos Ayerza 2 Agustin Creevy (c) 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro 4 Matias Alemanno  5 Tomas Lavanini 6 Juan Manuel Leguizamon 7 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe 8 Facundo Isa 9 Tomas Cubelli 10 Nicolas Sanchez 11 Juan Imhoff 12 Juan Martin Hernandez 13 Marcelo Bosch 14 Santiago Cordero 15 Joaquin Tuculet Replacements: 16. Julian Montoya (H) 17. Lucas Noguera (P) 18. Ramiro Herrera (P) 19. Javier Ortega Desio (F) 20. Pablo Matera (F) 21. Martin Landajo (SH) 22. Jeronimo De La Fuente (C) 23. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (FB)

Georgia Ranked 13th: HC Milton Haig Starters: 1. Mikheil Nariashvili 2. Jaba Bregvadze  3. Davit Zirakashvili 4. Giorgi Nemsadze 5. Konstantine Mikautadze 6. Giorgi Tkhilaishvili 7. Viktor Kolelishvili 8. Mamuka Gorgodze (c) 9. Vasil Lobzhanidze 10. Lasha Malaguradze 11. Giorgi Aptsiauri 12. Merab Sharikadze 13. Davit Kacharava 14. Tamaz Mchedlidze
15. Merab Kvirikashvili Replacements: 16. Shalva Mamukashvili (H) 17. Karlen Asieshvili (P) 18. Levan Chilachava (L) 19. Levan Datunashvili (L) 20. Shalva Sutiashvili (F) 21. Giorgi Begadze (SH) 22. Giorgi Pruidze (W) 23. Murazi Giorgadze (Wing)



About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant