Chicago Hounds vs Rugby New York Match Preview

The Chicago Hounds host Rugby New York on Sunday, May 14 at Seat Geek Stadium. Kickoff is at 2 pm ET ( 1 pm local). The match will be broadcast on Marquee Sports Network Plus and MSG and streamed on The Rugby Network.

Chicago Hounds

Chicago Hounds Head Coach Sam Harris has made one change in the starters with Michael de Waal returning at blindside flanker and Justice Nkombua moving to the reserves. Tighthead prop Paddy Ryan and fullback Chris Mattina will make their 50th MLR appearance.

There are also two changes in the reserves with Lindsey Stevens returning at hooker and Duke Krishnan at lock.

The Chicago Hounds are coming off a 27-12 loss to Rugby ATL and at halftime were within a try of ATL, 12-17. They have a dynamic attacking backline and need to play 80 minutes of inspired rugby to gain a win.

The Hounds play at SeatGeek Stadium and their home field will feature the MLR Shield Championship.

Rugby New York Ironworkers

Rugby New York Head Coach James Semple has made one change in the starters with Quinn Ngawati starting at inside center and Tei Walden being rested ahead of a bye week before the team travels to play San Diego Legion. There is also one change in the reserves with Anthony Parry at loosehead prop.

The Ironworkers are currently in third place in the MLR Eastern Conference and look to keep pace for a playoff spot with New England and Old Glory, with Rugby ATL and NOLA Gold also contesting.

Rugby New York had their best attacking match of the season last Sunday, defeating NOLA Gold 54-19. The team hopes to carry the momentum from that match to Chicago and vanquish the Hounds.

Squad with Player Article Links

CHICAGO HOUNDS: 1 LaRome White 2 Mason Koch 3 Paddy Ryan 4 Cam Dodson 5 John Cullen 6 Michael De Waal 7 Maclean Jones 8 Luke White 9 Sidney Shoop 10 Luke Carty 11 Julián Domínguez 12 Billy Meakes (C) 13Mark O’Keefe 14 Matai Leuta 15 Chris Mattina 16 Lindsey Stevens 17 George Thornton 18 Charlie Abel 19 Duke Krishnan 20 Justice Nkombua 21 Michael Baska 22 Bryce Campbell 23 JP Eloff

Rugby New York Ironworkers: 1 Chance Wenglewskii 2 Dylan Fawsitt 3 Kaleb Geiger 4 Nate Brakeley (C) 5 Hamish Dalzell 6 Brad Tucker7 Monate Akuei 8 Kara Pryor 9 Connor Buckley10 Jason Emery 11 Ed Fidow 12 Quinn Ngawati 13 Fa’asiu Fuatai 14 Andrew Coe 15 Nick Feakes16 Daquan Perry 17 Anthony Parry 18 Sam Davies 19 Charlie Hewitt 20 Ben Bonasso 21 Cristian Rodriguez 22 Sam Windsor 23 Brooklyn Hardaker

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe to include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant