National Collegiate Rugby Men’s DII CRC Finalists

National Collegiate Rugby Release

National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) announced the final teams that will compete for the Men’s Division II title at the Collegiate Rugby Championship in New Orleans.

Division II National Finalists

With a field of 16 teams, the 2022 CRC becomes the largest Division II 7s national championship in history.

Five of the teams received automatic bids by winning Automatic Qualification tournaments. These qualifiers include Norwich, Lander, Georgetown, Northern Iowa, and Principia. Georgetown and Norwich have gone undefeated against Division II opposition this Spring at 23-0 and 13-0, respectively, while The Citadel enters the tournament with an impressive 24-4 record.

IUP are the Allegheny Champions, Minnesota-Duluth represents the Northern Lights, and Rocky Mountain’s Montana State finished runner-up at the Boise State Premier Qualifier. The remaining at-large teams placed highly in their conference standings and contested additional high-level opponents to build their resumes.

The tournament starts on May 28 with round robin play across the four groups. The top eight teams will proceed to the quarterfinals on May 29, with the bottom eight teams playing consolation matches.

Broadcasting live on The Rugby Network, the semi-finals and championship matches will be played on May 30 in the Shrine on Airline stadium.

Hosted by Major League Rugby’s NOLA Gold, the 2022 Collegiate Rugby Championship will be held over Memorial Day weekend, May 28-30. As the largest college rugby tournament in North America, the CRC will include over 100 collegiate teams.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant