Major League Rugby 2022 Schedule Announced

Major League Release

Entering its fifth season, Major League Rugby (MLR) has announced that its 2022 season will begin with matches on February 5, 2022. The regular season will include 18 weeks of action, with two bye weeks for each team. The 13 teams, with the addition of the Dallas Jackals, will be competing within and across two conferences: the Eastern Conference (Old Glory DC, New England Free Jacks, NOLA Gold, Rugby ATL, Rugby United New York, Toronto Arrows) and the Western Conference (Austin Gilgronis, Dallas Jackals, Houston SaberCats, LA Giltinis, Seattle Seawolves, San Diego Legion, Utah Warriors).

“We are excited for Major League Rugby’s fifth season and the continued growth of the League,” said Commissioner George Killebrew. “We’re confident that this season is going to be even better than the last, and that the fan experience is going to continue to improve. February 5 is going to be a great day for rugby enthusiasts and sports lovers in North America.”

Changes have been made to the MLR Championship Series, beginning with the regular season set to conclude on Sunday, June 5, 2022. While the No. 1 seeds in both the East and West will receive first-round byes, the No. 2 and No. 3 teams in each conference will compete on June 11 and 12. Thereafter, the No. 1 seeds in both conferences will face the winners of the No.2 vs. No. 3 matchups on June 18 and 19 for the MLR Conference Finals. Ultimately, the MLR Championship Final will take place June 25/26.

Opening weekend will feature a marquee match-up Rugby ATL hosting Old Glory DC on Saturday, Feb 5. Other highlights of the league’s opening day include Dallas Jackalsinaugural match on Saturday, Feb 5, as they travel to play the Austin GilgronisSan Diego Legion host the Utah Warriors on Sunday, Feb 6, in a rematch of one of the most exciting 2021 matches that ended in a comeback win by the Warriors.

Other notable games for the regular season include:

  • Saturday, Feb 19, Rugby ATL host Rugby United New York in a rematch of the 2021 Eastern Conference Final.
  • Sunday, March 13, the LA Giltinis host the Utah Warriors in a rematch of the 2021 Western Conference Final.
  • The Texas Cup has grown to feature six matchups as the Dallas Jackals enter MLR.
  • Saturday, Feb 5 Austin Gilgronis host Dallas Jackals
  • Saturday, Feb 19 Dallas Jackals host Houston SaberCats
  • Sunday, April 3 Austin Gilgronis host Houston SaberCats
  • Saturday, April 9 Houston SaberCats host Dallas Jackals
  • Saturday, April 16 Dallas Jackals host Austin Gilgronis
  • Friday, June 3 Houston SaberCats host Austin Gilgronis
  • Saturday, April 30, Rugby ATL hosts the LA Giltinis in a rematch of the 2021 Championship Final.


Broadcast information will be announced at a later date.

There will be a variety of pre-season activities in each market as well as a national media day where each team will provide standout players for national and international media availability.


Major League Rugby is a professional sports league entering its fifth season that represents the highest level of rugby competition in North America. The League evolved from seven teams in 2018, to 13 teams in 2021, featuring 12 from the United States and one from Canada. Matches are televised on CBS Sports Network, Fox Sports 1 and Fox Sports 2, among other national and local market platforms. Select matches are available to stream live in North America on The Rugby Network, and all matches are available on The Rugby Network for international fans. MLR prides itself in fostering intense and high-stakes competition while bringing together a passionate community built on the values of Respect, Inclusivity, and Tradition. For more information about MLR, visit www.MajorLeague.Rugby.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant