Rugby United New York Home Opener vs Old glory DC

Rugby United New York makes its 2021 Major League Rugby home debut against Old Glory DC on Sunday, April 18 at 2:30 pm at Cochrane Stadium in Jersey City, N.J. The excitement is building in the Metropolitan New York region for professional rugby after the league cut its 2020 season short just prior to last year’s opener against the Seattle Seawolves.

Fans are not currently permitted at Cochrane Stadium, so watch the broadcast on MSG, NBCSW, or the stream on The Rugby Network.

Rugby United New York is 2-1 and is in second place in the Eastern Conference based on point differential with 10 points. Old Glory DC is 1-1-1 and is in fifth place with 6 points. The Conference is a very competitive one with any team capable of gaining a win any given week.

Rugby United New York Coach Marty Veale has made three changes in the starters with Ben Foden, Hanco Germishuys, and Apensia Cakaubalavu out of the matchday squad. Joel Miranda will make his first MLR appearance at wing, with Troy Lockyear also playing his first match of the 2021 season at fullback. Charlie Hewitt pairs with Nick Civetta at lock with Nate Brakeley shifting to blindside flanker and Ben Bonasso to openside flanker.

Reserve changes include the return of Evan Mintern and Chris Mattina to the squad with Rob Iramescu and Luke Hume rested.

Old Glory DC Head Coach Andrew Douglas has made two changes in the starters with Callum Gibbins and Jason Robertson returning as starters. The latter has been out for three weeks after a thumb injury. Cory Daniel also joins the reserves as a back-row.

The team has had to make changes in the centers with Ciaran Hearn out for up to 6 weeks and Doug Fraser, 3 weeks. Co-captain Thretton Palamo shifted to inside center with Renata Robert-TeNana moving from fullback to outside center. Mike Dabulas also shifted from flyhalf to fullback.

Squads with Player Article Links

Rugby United New York: 1 James Rochford 2 Dylan Fawsitt (c) 3 Zak Taulafo 4 Charlie Hewitt 5 Nick Civetta 6 Nate BrakeleyBen Bonasso 8 Kyra Pryor 9 Andy Ellis 10 Dan Hollinshead 11 Joel Miranda 12 Will Leonard 13 Fa’asiu Fuatai 14 Quinn Ngawati 15 Troy Lockyear 16 Wilton Rebolo 17 Anthony Parry 18 Samu Tawake 19 Evan Mintern 20 Kyle Sumsion 21 Conor McManus 22 Harry Bennett 23 Chris Mattina

Old Glory DC: 1 Jamie Dever 2 Mikey Sosene-Feagai 3 Steven Longwell 4 Tevita Naqali 5 Stan South 6 Callum Gibbins 7 Mungo Mason (c) 8 Jamason Fa’anana Schultz 9 Danny Tusitala 10 Jason Robertson 11 D’Montae Noble 12 Thretton Palamo (c) 13 Renata Roberts-TeNana 14 Sam Cusano 15 Mike Dabulas 16 James King 17 Max Lum 18 Jack Carroll 19 Api Naikatini 20  Josh Brown 21 Daniel Thomas  22  Simi Moala 23 Cory Daniel

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe to include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant