Match Preview: Utah Warriors vs Seattle Seawolves

The Utah Warriors host the Seattle Seawolves at Zions Bank Stadium on Saturday, April 10 at 9 pm ET. The match will be broadcast on KSL TV App, Root Sports, and The Rugby Network.

The Utah Warriors are one of the surprise teams of 2021, opening the season with wins over Austin Gilgronis, the Toronto Arrows, before losing by a point to the New England Free Jacks last week. They top the Western Conference standings with 11 points.

The Seattle Seawolves will look to re-group after two losses to open the 2021 MLR season to the Houston SaberCats and LA Giltinis. They have announced several new additions to the team and have had extra time to prepare for the Warriors, coming off a bye week.

Utah Warriors Head Coach Shawn Pitman has made three changes in the starters with Veremalua Vugakoto at hooker, Thomas Tu’avao at blindside flanker with Lance Williams shifting to No. 8, and Jurie Van Vuuren moving to lock. Mika Kruse slots in at the outside center.

In the reserves, Mike Gieselman returns to the roster, and Derek Ellingson could make his MLR debut should he enter from the bench.

The Seattle Seawolves are coming off a bye week, and have made six changes in the starters. James Malcolm who scored three tries in less than ten minutes in the last match will get his first MLR start at hooker. FP Pelser makes his 2021 MLR appearance at lock, Nakai Penny is the openside flanker, Deveraux Ferris is at scrumhalf with JP Smith moving to right-wing. Kieran Joyce is at flyhalf.

In the reserves, recent additions Huluholo Moungaloa, a prop, and Setareki Tuilevuka, a center, are poised to contribute when needed. Tommy Clark is also on the match roster.

What is noticeable is the absence of Brad Tucker, Shalom Suniula, and Ben Cima.

Squad With Player Article Links

Utah Warriors: 1 Franco Van Den BergVeremalua Vugakoto 3 Angus Maclellan 4 Jurie Van Vuuren 5 Matt Jensen 6 Thomas Tu’avao 7 Bailey Wilson (c) 8 Lance Williams 9 Fraser Hurst 10 Hagen Schulte 11 Josh Whippy 12 Calvin Whiting 13 Mika Kruse 14 Mike Te’o  (VC) 15 Cliven Loubser 16 Chad Gough 17 Alex Tucci 18 Olive Kilifi 19 James Mocke 20 Mike Gieselman 21 Dan Christensen 22 Derek Ellingson 23 Joe Mano

Seattle Seawolves: 1 Djustice Sears-DuruJames Malcolm 3 Tim Metcher 4 FP Pelser 5 Rhyno HerbstAndrew Durutalo 7 Nakai Penny 8 Riekert Hattingh (c) 9 Devereaux Ferris 10 Kieran Joyce 11 Sitiveni Tamaivena 12 George Barton 13 Ross Neal (VC) 14 JP Smith 15 Mat Turner 16 Mike Shepherd 17 Huluholo Moungaloa 18 Jake Ilnicki 19 Eric Duechle 20 Tommy Clark 21 Setareki Tuilevuka 22 Aaron Matthews 23 Juan Pablo ‘Juampi’ Aguirre

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe to include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant