Match Preview: Houston SaberCats vs San Diego Legion

The Houston SaberCats host San Diego Legion on Saturday, April 10 at 8 pm ET at Aveva Stadium. A curtain-raiser match between Rugby HTX and Austin Blacks precede at 4 pm ET.

The MLR match will be broadcast on Fox Sports 2 and internationally on The Rugby Network, as well as 24 hours domestically.

Both teams will be looking for a win with the SaberCats opening the season with a win against the Seattle Seawolves, before consecutive shutouts from New England Free Jacks and Austin Gilgronis.  The Legion opened the season with a loss to Rugby United New York, a narrow win over Austin Gilgronis, and then a loss last week to Rugby ATL.


Houston SaberCats Head Coach Paul Healy has made five changes in the starters with Nikoloz Khatiashvilli at loosehead prop, Lucas Albornoz at lock, Cecil Garber at openside flanker, newly acquired scrumhalf Nick Boyer, and Zach Pangelinan on the left-wing. Zach Godfrey also returns to the roster as a reserve.

San Diego Legion Co-Head Coaches Scott Murray and Zack Test have made four changes in the starters with Nate Sylvia at loosehead prop, former England captain Chris Robshaw making his MLR debut at openside flanker, Cam Clark returning at inside center, and Cecil Afrika at fullback. Pete Malcolm and Jasa Veremalua return to the roster after missing a week.

Squads With Player Article Links

Houston SaberCats:Nikoloz Khatiashvili 2 Diego Fortuny 3 Charlie Connolly 4 Kody O’Neil 5 Lucas Albornoz 6 Luke Beauchamp (C) 7 Cecil GarberDiego Magno 9 Nick Boyer 10 Robbie Povey 11 Zach Pangelinan 12 Sam Windsor (VC) 13 Veramu Dikidikilati 14 Paula Balekana 15 Matias Freyre 16 Tiaan Erasmus  17 Nicolas Solveyra 18 Nik Hildebrand 19 Van Stewart 20 Adriaan Booysen 21 Jin Ho Mun 22 Taylor Howden 23 Zach Godfrey

San Diego Legion: 1 Nate Sylvia 2 Dean Muir (VC) 3 Aaron Mitchell 4 Ben Mitchell 5 Keni Nasoqeqe6 Jasa Veremalua7 Psalm Wooching 8 Tevita Tameilau 9 Carlo De Nysschen 10 Joe Pietersen (c) 11 Bjorn Basson 12 Dylan Audsley 13 Cam Clark 14 Save Totovosau 15 Cecil Afrika 16 Pete Malcolm 17 Cronan Gleeson 18 Chris Baumann 19 Siaosi ‘CC’ Mahoni 20 Travis Larsen 21 Jasa Veremalua 22 Patrick Madden 23 Ryan Matyas

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe to include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant