Old Glory DC Meets Toronto Arrows

Old Glory DC will host the Toronto Arrows on Saturday, April 3 at Segra Field in Leesburg, Virginia. Kickoff is at 5 pm ET with the match being streamed on the Rugby Network and broadcast on NBC Sports Washington, as well as TSN 2 in Canada.

The teams will be excited for a first-time meeting between last year’s second and first place Eastern Conference teams during the pandemic shortened 2020 season.

Old Glory Head Coach Andrew Douglas has made three changes in the starters from last week’s win over Rugby ATL, which followed a draw against NOLA Gold in week one. Stan South and Luke Campbell gain their first starts at lock and at blindside flanker, while Mike Dabulas will be at flyhalf, with Jason Robertson out following thumb surgery. Simi Moala will be waiting to make his MLR debut as a replacement as a center.

Toronto Arrows Head Coach Chris Silverthorn has had an unusual start to the team’s season, with the team temporarily relocating to Marietta, Georgia, and sharing a facility with Rugby ATL. The team is missing a few players who could not relocate, along with some others with injuries.

The team finds itself in unfamiliar territory after beginning the season 0-2, after losses to Rugby ATL and Utah Warriors.

Four changes have been made in the starters with Tyler Rowland gaining his first MLR start at tighthead prop. Paul Ciulini returns at lock after missing last week’s match with a hamstring tweak. Mitch Richardson also returns at wing, while Ross Braude will make his MLR debut at scrumhalf.

There are also two changes in the reserves with Will Kelly providing cover at flyhalf and Canadian prop Liam Murray arriving on a short-term loan from the Houston SaberCats due to last week’s injury to Chris Atkinson and the red card suspension of Gaston Cortes.

Squads with Player Article Links

Old Glory DC: 1 Jamie Dever 2 Mikey Sosene-Feagai 3 Steven Longwell 4 Tevita Naqali 5 Stan South 6 Luke Campbell 7 Mungo Mason (c) 8 Jamason Fa’anana Schultz 9 Danny Tusitala 10 Mike Dabulas 11 D’Montae Noble 12 Doug Fraser 13 Thretton Palamo 14 Sam Cusano 15 Renata Roberts-TeNana16 James King 17 Max Lum 18 Jack Carroll 19 Api Naikatini 20 Callum Gibbins  21 Daniel Thomas  22  Simi Moala 23 Josh Brown

Toronto Arrows: 1 Cole Keith 2 Andrew Quattrin 3 Tyler Rowland 4 Adrian Wadden 5 Paul Ciulini 6 Tomás de la Vega 7 Lucas Rumball (cc) 8 Manuel Diana 9 Ross Braude 10 Tayler Adams 11 Gastón MIeres 12 Guiseppe du Toit 13 Ben LeSage (cc) 14 Mitch Richardson 15 Joaquin Tuclet 16 Jack McRogers 17 Pat Lynott 18 Liam Murray ( ST loan Houston) 19 Mike Sheppard 20 Kolby Francis 21 Jason Higgins 22 Will Kelly 23 Patrick Parfrey

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe to include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant