NCR Announces New Officers For Board of Directors

NCR Release

National Collegiate Rugby is pleased to announce new officers on the board of directors:

  • President: Rafael Zahralddin
  • Vice President: Jayme Pendergast
  • Treasurer:  Kyle Smith
  • Secretary: Brett Anker 

With the exception of Kyle Smith, who will continue in the role of Treasurer, each of the appointees is a first-term officer on the NCR board.

Full board bios are available on

“I am honored to be appointed President of the NCR Board. Steve Cohen is a very tough act to follow, but I am surrounded by committed board members, officers, and a high-quality executive team. I am especially looking forward to closely working with our new Vice President and CEO. Despite the challenges that collegiate sports face, NCR is well-positioned for the future and stands ready to help our member conferences, colleges, and universities put players on the rugby field when it is safe for them” said Rafael Zahralddin.

These are the first officer appointments since NSCRO became National Collegiate Rugby. Under the NCR brand, the organization has seen tremendous growth and now serves nearly 600 teams across multiple men’s and women’s divisions.

Steve Cohen, the Founder and outgoing President of NCR, will continue to work with the Board as an Adviser. Commenting on his new role, Steve added “The NCR organization is stronger than ever, and it’s an appropriate time for me to add value to collegiate rugby in new ways. Although I am no longer involved in the day-to-day running of NCR, I will be an active member of the rugby community and look forward to working with the new board of directors.”

While Steven Hiatt is stepping down from his role as Vice President, he will continue to serve on the board and in the role of Director of Men’s Rugby.

The two-year terms are effective immediately.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant