Ohio Valley D2 Women’s Rugby Conference Joins NCR

NCR Release

The Ohio Valley D2 Women’s Rugby Conference is proud to announce that they will join the NCR Women’s Open Division for the Fall 2020 season with 8 teams. Additionally, they are currently in discussion with the Ohio Valley Women’s Collegiate Rugby Conference who provide services to 11 small college teams. They are working on a plan to administer all schools together in the Ohio, West Virginia, Kentucky, and Indiana region.

When asked to join NCR, Open Division Kayla Closson said, “This is a great opportunity to stay with our midwest competition and work with a group that has such a passion for Collegiate Women’s Rugby. Combining with the other Ohio Valley Conference to create a hybrid league will give all of our teams more chances to be competitive and unified as one.”

Long time Small School Commissioner Marc Ferguson is excited to begin working alongside the Open Division teams because, “In talking with Kayla, we realized that we faced similar challenges with the competitive levels of our teams and that the opportunity to combine would better serve the needs of both conferences.”

Open Division members: 

  • University of Cincinnati
  • Miami University
  • Ohio University
  • Cedarville University
  • Marshall University
  • University of Kentucky
  • Eastern Kentucky University
  • Ball State University

Small School Division members:

  • University of Findlay
  • Kenyon College
  • Tiffin University 
  • Denison University 
  • Wooster College
  • Earlham College
  • Grace College
  • Baldwin Wallace University
  • Ohio Wesleyan University 
  • Wittenberg College
  • Oberlin College

For more information on the NCR Women’s Open Division contact: Angela Smarto smarto@ncr.rugby 

For more information on the conference contact:

Open Division Commissioner Kayla Closson kclosson2@gmail.com

Small School Division Commissioner Marc Ferguson fergusonm@earthlink.net

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant