Northern Lights D2 Men/Women Join NSCRO

NSCRO Release

The Northern Lights Conference is pleased to announce their commitment to joining the new NSCRO Open Division for its men’s and women’s D2 clubs beginning in Fall 2020. The Northern Lights Conference was formed in 2012 as the collegiate arm of the Minnesota Rugby Union. It includes 31 men’s and women’s teams competing at both the Small College and Division 2 levels.

This decision was overwhelmingly supported by a vote of collegiate membership after a task force, appointed by the Minnesota Union, engaged and interviewed multiple organizations in order to present side-by-side comparisons of their offerings at a collegiate meeting earlier this week.

“Our task force was committed to doing our due diligence and presenting all options to our teams as objectively as possible. In the end, NSCRO stood out as the organization with the most comprehensive plan that would allow our teams to play on a competitive national pathway without significant disruption in our seasonality or hybrid format” said Greg White, Men’s Commissioner. “The move to NSCRO is the best fit for all of our teams at this time”, Women’s Commissioner Rachel Hill adds, “We are excited where this move will take us.”

The Northern Lights membership includes:

Men’s Division 2                                                                 Women’s Division 2

Minnesota State University Mankato                                     Minnesota State University Mankato

Minnesota State University Moorhead                                  University of Minnesota Duluth

North Dakota State University                                                North Dakota State University

South Dakota State University                                                St. Cloud State University

St. Cloud State University                                                        University of North Dakota

University of North Dakota                                                     Winona State University

Winona State University

Men’s Small College Division                                                 Women’s Small College Division

Bemidji State University                                                              Bemidji State University

Carleton College                                                                          Carleton College

Gustavus Adolphus College                                                       Gustavus Adolphus College

Macalester College                                                                      Macalester College

St. John’s University                                                                     College of Saint Benedict

St. Olaf College                                                                              St. Olaf College

College of St. Scholastica                                                             College of St. Scholastica

University of St. Thomas                                                              Minnesota State University Moorhead

Southwest State University (Dev)

University of Minnesota Morris (Dev)

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant