Midwest College Rugby Conference D2 Joins NSCRO

NSCRO Release

The Midwest College Rugby Conference is pleased to announce their commitment to joining NSCRO’s new Open Division competition beginning in Fall 2020.  The MCRC was created in 2017 to foster competition among regionally competitive programs and extend participating programs into national playoffs.

Being a hybrid conference has benefited both our teams in the D2 and Small College divisions to date. Participating teams have performed well in their prospective division postseasons, and we are looking forward to strengthening that in the 2020 competition fully under the NSCRO umbrella.

When asked about the MCRC commitment to NSCRO, Commissioner Barry Burkett commented, “The leadership and communication from the NSCRO have been excellent. The MCRC aligns with their point of view on teams wanting to compete in a national pathway, opportunities to highlight select sides, and the collegiate student-athlete. Steve Cohen, among others, is dedicated to the collegiate game and it shows in the infrastructure of the organization. We are excited to be a part of this evolution of US collegiate rugby.”

The MCRC currently has 7 men’s teams spread across Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, and West Virginia. The teams, in alphabetical order:
Eastern Kentucky University – Richmond, Kentucky
Marian University – Indianapolis, Indiana
Marshall University – Huntington, West Virginia
Thomas More College – Crestview Hills, Kentucky
University of Southern Indiana – Evansville, Indiana
Western Kentucky University – Bowling Green, Kentucky
Xavier University – Cincinnati, Ohio

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant