Old Glory DC Claims Road Win Over Houston SaberCats

Old Glory DC defeated the Houston SaberCats 22-13 on Saturday, February 22 at AVEVA Stadium.  A match replay will be on Sunday, Feb. 23 at 9 pm CT on AT&T SportsNet. Prior to the match at 4 pm ET, the University of Texas lost to Texas A&M 91-13.

The Houston SaberCats opened the season with a win over the Colorado Raptors and then lost to the Toronto Arrows when the ball was held up in-goal. After Old Glory DC opened with a loss against NOLA Gold, they bounced back and won their home opener against the Seattle Seawolves.

Houston SaberCats vs Old Glory Match Recap

Improvement in Old Glory DC’s scrum was evident, but the Old Glory started the match with scrum infraction. A strong run by Tiaan Loots resulted in an Old Glory scrum as he went into contact. This time a scrum infraction had Old Glory kicking for territory. Another SaberCats handling error resulted in an Old GLory scrum.

A third SaberCats penalty moved Old Glory just outside Houston’s 22-meters. A 4th penalty resulted in an early lead for Old Glory as Jason Robertson slotted a kick, 3-0.

The ensuing restart was claimed by Old Glory, but the clearance kick did not gain significant distance and resulted in a SaberCats lineout. The SaberCats went through phases and a Windsor grubber was gathered by Old Glory and quickly turned over. Tiaan Loots punished the DC side with a try with Windsor slotting the kick to lead 7-3.

After the restart, the SaberCats could not exit their 22-meters before a handling error resulted in an Old Glory scrum. Another SaberCats infraction resulted in another penalty goal by Robertson to slice the lead to 7-6.

A Houston kick had Old Glory under pressure from a 5-meter lineout in defense. Houston stole the throw-in and a knock-on resulted just prior to grounding. Old Glory’s Fa’anana-Schultz picked up the ball on the back foot and after going into contact, Old Glory cleared.

A Renata Roberts-Te Nana break and soon after a chip ahead and Old Glory mauling for a try by captain Mungo Mason. Robertson slotted the conversion from touch to extend the lead to 13-7.

During the final 17 minutes prior to the break, Sam Windsor slotted two penalty goals to level the match at 13 all.

In the final minute, Old Glory elected to not go for points and instead attacked from a lineout 5-meters out. An apparent try by Jamason Fa’anana-Schultz was waived off by referee Scott Green.

During the first half, Houston had an edge in the scrum, while Old Glory had a lineout advantage.

Second Half

Three minutes into the second half, a SaberCats penalty had Old Glory’s Robertson tacking on another penalty goal to retake a 16-13 lead.

Old Glory’s Renata Roberts-Te Nana was sent to the bin, but the SaberCats could not capitalize. The defenses held for over 20 minutes before an infraction extended Old Glory’s lead to 19-13 after Robertson slotted another kick.

Prior to the match ending, Diego Magno was sent to the bin for tackling a man without the ball. Robertson added his fifth kick for a 22-13 win.

With the win, Old Glory DC’s record improved to 2-1, while the Houston SaberCats fell to 1-2. On Saturday, February 29, Old Glory will face Austin Gilgronis at Toyota Field in San Antonio as part of Military Appreciation Day, as well as playing for the Cousine Solutions Cup.

The Houston SaberCats will regroup and host Rugby United New York on Sunday in the CBSSN Game of the week.

Squads with Player Article Links & Match Preview

Houston SaberCats: 1 Nicolas Solveyra 2 Diego Fortuny 3 Charlie Connolly  4 Kyle Breytenbach 5 Rob Meeson 6 Luke Beauchamp 7 Cecil Garber 8 Diego Magno (VC) 9 Dewet Roos (C) 10 Sam Windsor 11 Malacchi Esdale 12 Thomas Morani 13 Tiaan Loots 14 Kieran Farmer 15  Osea Kolinisau 16 Tim Cadwallader  17 Valdemar Lee-Lo 18 Boyd Wiggins 19 Victor Comptat 20 Adriaan Booysen 21 Zachary Short 22 Taylor Howden 23 Tim Stanfill Head Coach Paul Healy

Old Glory DC: 1Tendai Mtawarira 2 Dante Lopresti 3 Gordon Fullerton 4 Tevita NaqaliDylan Pieterse   6 Matt Hughston 7 Mungo Mason (CC) 8 Jamason Fa’anana-Schultz 9 Danny Tusitala 10 Jason Robertson 11 Renata Roberts TeNana 12 Ciaran Hearn 13 Thretton Palamo (CC) 14 Declan O’Donnell 15 Dylan Taikato-Simpson16 Max Lum 17 Jake Turnbull  18 Will Vakalahi 19 Travis Larsen 20 Josh Brown 21 Michael Reid 22 Mike Dubulas 23 Doug Fraser

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant