Austin Gilgronis vs Utah Warriors Match Preview

Austin Gilgronis host the Utah Warriors on February 22 at Bold Stadium at Circuit of the Americas. Kickoff is at 8 pm ET.

Austin Gilgronis are looking for their first win after losses to the Toronto Arrows and to Rugby United New York. The Utah Warriors are 1-1 after a loss to Rugby ATL and a win against the New England Free Jacks.

Austin Gilgronis

The Austin Gilgronis have five changes in their starters from last week’s match against Rugby United New York. Newly signed former All Black Jamie MacKintosh is at loosehead prop with Tiaan Strauss Erasmus at hooker, with Chris Schade not on the matchday 23.  Moe Abdelmonem is the openside flanker, Rodrick Waters is at wing with Gabe Farley at the inside center.

Luca Tani, a lock that played with San Francisco Golden Gate Rugby Club, and Stewart Morris, who was a Collegiate Center at Baylor University, has been converted to flanker. Former All Black Frank Halai, who just joined the team, will be a reserve at wing.

Utah Warriors

Utah Warriors Head Coach Chris Latham has made three changes in the starting backs with James Vaifale debuting at wing, Tyler Fisher at outside center, and Robbie Povey at fullback. Jared Whippy will also make his first Warriors appearance on the matchday roster in the reserves since being injured in 2018.

The Warriors showed how dangerous the team is when counterattacking in their win last week against the New England Free Jacks.

Squads with Player Article Links

Austin Gilgronis: Jamie Mackintosh 2 Tiaan Strauss Erasmus  Mason PedersenMaikeli NaramaitongaPotu LeavasaDominic Akina 7 Moe Abdelmonem  8 Lino Saunitoga 9 Marcelo Torrealba 10 Zinzan Elan-Puttick (C) 11  12 Gabe Farley 13 Peni Tagive 14  Corey Jones 15 Rodrigo Silva 16 Brendan Rams 17 Juan Echeverria 18 LaRome White19 Luca Tani  20 Stewart Morris 21 Colby Stevens 22 Sione Fangaiuiha 23 Frank Halai

Utah Warriors: 1 Franco Van Den Berg 2 Veremalua Vugakoto 3 Angus MacLellan 4 John Cullen 5 Matt Jensen 6 Bailey Wilson 7 Thomas Tu’avao 8 Jurie Van Vuuren 9 Dwayne Polataivao (C) 10 Hagen Schulte 11 James Vaifale 12 Calvin Whiting 13 Tyler Fisher 14 Gannon Moore 15 Robbie Povey 16 Ricky Tu’ihalagingie 17 Huluholo Mo’ungaloa 18 Kalolo Tuiloma 19 Viliami Puna Vuli 20 Saia Uhila 21 Michael Baska 22 Jared Whippy 23 Dominik Toluono

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant