Seattle Seawolves Shutouts Vancouver Island Crimson Tide

The Seattle Seawolves began their 2020 preseason with a Thursday evening January 16 match 55-0 shutout against the Vancouver Island Crimson Tide at Starfire Stadium. Preceding the match was the 2019 MLR Championship ring ceremony.

The Seawolves host the Tasman Makos on January 26 at Starfire Stadium at 7:30 pm PT. The Makos are playing the Houston SaberCats this weekend in their first leg of a two-match tour.

Seattle Seawolves vs Vancouver Island Crimson Tide Recap

The Seattle Seawolves had a crisp preseason outing against the Vancouver Island Crimson Tide. The weather was freezing, yet 2500 fans were in attendance in Seawolves gear and Starfire Stadium will be a formidable place to play for visiting teams in 2020.

The Seawolves jumped to a 36-0 lead at the break on the strength of tries by Riekert Hattingh, Tim Metcher from a maul, an offload from Brad Tucker to Harry Davies for a try, and a Ross Neal try. A penalty try and another by Stephen Coetzee and two conversions by Brock Staller completed the first-half scoring.

In the second half, Suli Tamaivena neared in-goal and Hattingh finished with his second try with Ben Cima slotting the extras to lead 43-0. A Scott Dean grub kick led to a try by Siti Tamaivena to push the lead to 48-0. Joey iosefo completed the scoring with a try and a Cima conversion for a final of 55-0.

Squads, Seattle Seawolves Player Article Profiles & Match Preview

Seattle Seawolves: 1 John Hayden 2 Stephan Coetzee 3 Tim Metcher 4 Jeremy Lenaerts 5 Brad Tucker 6 Eric Duechle 7 Nakai Penny 8 Riekert HattinghJP Smith 10 Ben Cima11 Brock Staller 12 Shalom Suniula 13 Ross Neal 14 Mat Turner 15 Harry Davies 16 Kellen Gordon 17 Mike Shepherd 18 Jake Ilnicki 19 Taylor Krumrei 20 Vili Toluta’u 21 Jope Motokana 22 Scott Dean 23 Joey Iosefo 24 Sitiveni Tamaivena 25 Suliasi Tamaivena 26 George Barton

Unavailable: Djustice Sears-Duru, Jeff HasslerFP PelserJuan Manuel Leguizamon, Ryno EksteenMatt Brennan, & David Busby

Vancouver Island Crimson Tide: 1 John Braddock, 2 Nico Krawczyk, 3 Tom Scanlan, 4 Tyler Symon-Burke, 5 Quinn Horton, 6 Mason Flesch, 7 James O’Neill (capt.), 8 Siaki Vikilani, 9 Crosby Stewart, 10 Thomas Isherwood, 11 Kainoa Lloyd, 12 Mua Uluilelata, 13 Gabriel Casey, 14 Ty Benson, 15 Sam Reimer 16 Foster DeWitt, 17 Blake van Heyningen, 18 Ed Ilnicki, 19 Carter Filion, 20 Peyton Eagar, 21 Brandon Schellenberger, 22 Taylor de Souza, 23 Reid Watkins, 24 David Devillers

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant