Handre Pollard Boots South Africa to Cup Title Over England

South Africa defeated England 32-12 to win the 2019 Rugby World Cup Final at International Stadium Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture, Yokohama City on Saturday, 2 November. South Africa led 12-6 at the break.

The Springboks scrum was dominant during the match and created numerous infractions by England, many of which resulted in penalty goals by Pollard. The Springboks added two late tries to seal the win.

Match Recap

In the first minute, Courtney Lawes did not roll away at the breakdown. This resulted in a penalty goal by South Africa’s Handre Pollard, but it was wide right.

On the ensuing play, England tighthead Kyle Sinckler was knocked out on the tackle and was removed from the match with Dan Cole entering as a replacement.

South Africa attacked deep from a scrum and after multiple phases, England’s Elliot Daly turned the ball over from the breakdown and attacked from their dead ball zone before clearing.

The Springboks Duane Vermeulen won a turnover with Owen Farrell penalized in the breakdown. Pollard slotted the penalty goal to take a 3-0 lead.

South Africa Mbongeni Mbonambi went off for an HIA after a poor tackling technique resulted in his head connecting with a knee instead of having his head outside of the hip. Lood de Jager also exited with a shoulder injury. Both of the injuries occurred as the Springboks were penalized allowing Owen Farrell to level the match at 3 all in the 23rd minute.

South Africa showed their dominance in the scrum and Handre Pollard punished an infraction as the Springboks reclaimed the lead 6-3.

England went through four minutes of sustained pressure of over 30 phases near in-goal and after a penalty advantage, Owen Farrell slotted a kick to knot the match at 6 all.

Billy Vunipola was pinged for holding on at the breakdown with Pollard curling the ball over the posts to give the Springboks a 9-6 lead in the 39th minute.

In the final minute, South Africa attacked from the restart with Lukhanyo evading tacklers and chipping ahead. Elliott Daly knocked the ball on and South Africa gained a scrum penalty as England was on their back foot. Pollard slotted the penalty for a 12-6 lead at the break.

Second Half

South Africa replaced their props, but on the first scrum, England was still on their back foot. This allowed Pollard to add his 5th penalty goal for a 15-6 lead.

Owen Farrell added another 3 points for England after a Springboks penalty to cut the lead to 15-9. Tom Curry then turned the ball over at the breakdown and Farrell’s penalty goal attempt sailed skirted the right post wide.

The scoring in the match continued to be dominated by penalty goals as Pollard slotted his 6th for an 18-9 lead. England’s Farrell answered right back with another to slice the lead to 18-12.

An Anthony Watson change of direction through a shoulder bump interfered with  South African chaser. Pollard’s long-distance kick was short.

The Springboks attacked from an England high ball with Mapimpi chipping and Lukhanyo Am offloading to Makazole Mapimpi for a try in the 67th minute. Pollard added the extras to lead 25-12.

The Springboks added a second try to seal the match after Henry Slade lost the ball forward on contact with Cheslin Kolbe stepping and then racing for a try. Pollard then added the extras to lead 32-12.

Pollard attempted a drop goal in the 78th minute, but the kick was wide.

The Springboks closed out the match to win the Webb Ellis Cup for the third time. They also won it in 1995 and in 2007. South Africa No.8 Duane Vermeulen was named Player of the Match.

England failed to score a try for the first time at the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

South Africa’s forwards scrummaging and the Springboks defense led to the win.

Squads & Match Preview

England: 1. Mako Vunipola 2. Jamie George 3. Kyle Sinckler 4. Maro Itoje 5. Courtney Lawes 6. Tom Curry 7. Sam Underhill 8. Billy Vunipola 9. Ben Youngs 10. George Ford 11. Jonny May 12. Owen Farrell (capt.) 13. Manu Tuilagi 14. Anthony Watson 15. Elliot Daly 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie 17. Joe Marler 18. Dan Cole 19. George Kruis 20. Mark Wilson 21. Willi Heinz 22. Henry Slade 23. Jonathan Joseph

South Africa: 1. Tendai Mtawarira 2. Mbongeni Mbonambi 3. Frans Malherbe 4. Eben Etzebeth 5. Lood de Jager 6. Siya Kolisi (captain) 7. Pieter-Steph Du Toit 8. Duane Vermeulen 9. Faf de Klerk 10. Handre Pollard 11. Makazole Mapimpi 12. Damian de Allende 13. Lukhanyo Am 14. Cheslin Kolbe 15. Willie Le Roux 16. Malcolm Marx 17. Steven Kitshoff 18. Vincent Koch 19. RG Snyman 20. Franco Mostert 21. Francois Louw 22. Herschel Jantjies 23. Frans Steyn

Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistants Referees: Romain Poite (France), Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant