England Into Rugby World Cup Final After Beating New Zealand

England defeated New Zealand 19-7 in the first Rugby World Cup 2019 semifinal at International Stadium Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture, Yokohama City on Saturday, 26 October. The Red Roses advance to the Cup Final on 2 November against the winner of tomorrow’s semifinal between Wales and South Africa. New Zealand will play for the Bronze.

England held a 10-0 lead at the break and dominated both possession and territory in the match.

Match Recap

England attacked from a lineout at midfield moving through phases with Manu Tuilagi powering over the line for a try with Owen Farrell slotting the extras to lead 7-0 in the 2nd minute.

England continued dominance of both territory and possession until a turnover in the 7th minute provided New Zealand’s first attacking opportunity.

The ensuing ten minutes were played at a fast pace with both teams having multiple attacking chances.

England appeared to score a try by Dan Underhill, but Tom Curry was offsides and resulted in a penalty to New Zealand.

A break by Brodie Retallick and multiple offloads had the All Black advancing to within 6-meters of in-goal before being driven into touch. England was able to clear after winning the lineout.

England tried to push the lead, but a George Ford drop goal attempt was wide.

Just prior to the break, Scott Barrett was pinged for coming in from the side and George Ford slotted a penalty goal to extend the lead to 10-0.

Second Half

Elliott Daly penalty goal attempt from midfield in the 42nd minute sailed wide of the posts.

Ben Young appeared to score a try following a maul, but after a TMO, the ball moved forward in the maul on player transfer, negating the try and giving the All Black a 5-meter scrum.

It has been all England in the first nine minutes of the second half, as George Ford extended the lead to 13-0 with a penalty goal.

New Zealand took advantage of a long throw by England from a lineout in the 57th minute with Ardie Savea catching the ball and finishing with a try. Richie Mo’unga then slotted the extras to cut the lead to 13-7.

After a turnover, England camped near in-goal before an All Blacks penalty had George Ford slotting a penalty goal to extend the lead to 16-7.

After a penalty by Brodie Retallick for coming in from the side, the All Blacks were warned that mounting penalties could result in a yellow card. George Ford made the All Blacks pay again with the boot for a 19-7 lead in the 69th minute.

New Zealand attacked right back, but England created a turnover inside their 22-meters and cleared.

England had one more chance for points in the 78th minute, but Ford’s penalty goal attempt was just left of the posts.

It was a dominant win for England as they had 56% of possession and 62% of the territory in the match. England will face the winner of the Wales-South Africa match being played tomorrow with New Zealand playing for the Bronze.

England’s only Rugby World Cup win was in 2003 in Sydney when they beat Australia. They also appeared in the Final in 2007 where they lost to South Africa.

Maro Itoje was named Player of the Match. He won three turnovers and had seven lineout takes. England’s Billy Vunipola and All Blacks Codie Taylor earned their 50th caps.

Squads & Match Preview

England: 1. Mako Vunipola 2. Jamie George 3. Kyle Sinckler 4. Maro Itoje 5. Courtney Lawes 6. Tom Curry 7. Sam Underhill 8. Billy Vunipola 9. Ben Youngs 10. George Ford 11. Jonny May 12. Owen Farrell (capt.) 13. Manu Tuilagi 14. Anthony Watson 15. Elliot Daly 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie 17. Joe Marler 18. Dan Cole 19. George Kruis 20. Mark Wilson 21. Willi Heinz 22. Henry Slade 23. Jonathan Joseph

New Zealand: 1. Joe Moody 2. Codie Taylor 3. Nepo Laulala 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Samuel Whitelock 6. Scott Barrett 7. Ardie Savea 8. Kieran Read (capt.) 9. Aaron Smith 10. Richie Mo’unga 11. George Bridge 12. Anton Lienert-Brown 13. Jack Goodhue 14. Sevu Reece 15. Beauden Barrett 16. Dane Coles 17. Ofa Tuungafasi 18. Angus Ta’avao 19. Patrick Tuipulotu 20. Sam Cane 21. TJ Perenara 22. Sonny Bill Williams 23. Jordie Barrett

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistants Referees: Romain Poite (France), Pascal Gauzere (France)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant