2019 Rugby World Cup Semifinal: England vs New Zealand

The first Rugby World Cup 2019 semifinal pits first-ranked New Zealand against second-ranked England at International Stadium Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture, Yokohama City on Saturday, 26 October. Kickoff is at 17:00 local (04:00 ET). In the U.S, the match may be viewed on NBCSN or on-demand on NBC Sports Gold and in Canada on TSN 1 and 4.


has been recalled to the England team to face New Zealand in the semi-final in Yokohama on Saturday.

England coach Eddie Jones has made just one change to the team that defeated Australia in the quarter-final. Fly-half George Ford returns to start with captain Owen Farrell moving to inside-center alongside Manu Tuilagi, with Henry Slade dropping to the reserves.

George Kruis, England’s best lineout threat, could see time as a repalcement to combat an All Blacks side that will have a height advantage with Scott Barrett, normally a lock, at blindside flanker.

Mark Wilson was selected as a replacement instead of Lewis Ludlam. Billy Vunipola will win his 50th cap.

New Zealand

New Zealand head coach Steve Hanson has made one change in his starters with the quarterfinal win over Ireland. Scott Barrett gains a start at flanker, instead of his usual position at lock while Sam Cane, who has started 20 consectutive matches, moves to the reserves. Patrick Tuipulotu replaces Matt Todd, who has a shoulder injury, in the reserves.

New Zealand captain Kieran Read has overcome a calf injury to take his usual number eight spot and earn his 126th cap, while Patrick Tuipulotu comes on to the bench as a second-row option in place of Matt Todd, who misses with a shoulder injury.

Codie Taylor will play his 50th test match for New Zealand on Saturday.


England: 1. Mako Vunipola 2. Jamie George 3. Kyle Sinckler 4. Maro Itoje 5. Courtney Lawes 6. Tom Curry 7. Sam Underhill 8. Billy Vunipola 9. Ben Youngs 10. George Ford 11. Jonny May 12. Owen Farrell (capt.) 13. Manu Tuilagi 14. Anthony Watson 15. Elliot Daly 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie 17. Joe Marler 18. Dan Cole 19. George Kruis 20. Mark Wilson 21. Willi Heinz 22. Henry Slade 23. Jonathan Joseph

New Zealand: 1. Joe Moody 2. Codie Taylor 3. Nepo Laulala 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Samuel Whitelock 6. Scott Barrett 7. Ardie Savea 8. Kieran Read (capt.) 9. Aaron Smith 10. Richie Mo’unga 11. George Bridge 12. Anton Lienert-Brown 13. Jack Goodhue 14. Sevu Reece 15. Beauden Barrett 16. Dane Coles 17. Ofa Tuungafasi 18. Angus Ta’avao 19. Patrick Tuipulotu 20. Sam Cane 21. TJ Perenara 22. Sonny Bill Williams 23. Jordie Barrett

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistants Referees: Romain Poite (France), Pascal Gauzere (France)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant