New Zealand Bursts By Canada

New Zealand defeated Canada 63-0 in a Pool B match at Oita Stadium, Oita Prefecture on Wednesday 2 October. The All Blacks had a 28-0 lead at the break.

Next for the All Blacks is Namibia on Sunday, 6 October, while Canada faces South Africa on 8 October.

In round one, Italy defeated Canada 48-7, while New Zealand defeated South Africa 23-13.

Match Recap

The All Blacks attacked from the restart and a minute into the match were held up in-goal. This resulted in a 5-meter scrum and after a Canada penalty, New Zealand elected another scrum and drove toward in-goal with a penalty try awarded.

New Zealand added a second try after a cross-kick by flyhalf Richie Mo’unga to Jordie Barrett for a try. Mo’unga then added the extras to push the lead to 14-0.

The All Blacks appeared to have added a third try by TJ Perenara, however, a TMO ruling indicated the ball was grounded just short of in-goal with Canada awarded a lineout.

Soon after, Sonny Bill Williams powered over the line for a try with Mo’unga converting for a 21-0 lead.

The All Blacks advanced deep into Canadian territory before a Gordon McRorie intercept and run and another break by Peter Nelson to within 5-meters of in-goal. Following a Canada lineout, the maul went to ground, resulting in an All Blacks scrum. New Zealand earned a penalty and cleared.

New Zealand appeared ready to score its fourth try, but Scott Barrett lost the ball forward as he reached in-goal. Canada cleared after an All Blacks scrum infraction.

A Canada scrum infraction had the All Blacks attacking from a lineout. A grub kick by Sonny Bill Williams resulted in a try by Beauden Barrett, which was then converted by Mo’unga. This gave New Zealand a bonus point and a 28-0 lead.

Second Half

The All Blacks struck early after a Sonny Bill Williams break and an offload to Rieko Ioane for a try in the left corner with Mo’unga slotting the conversion from touch to lead 35-0.

A Mo’unga offload to Kieran Reid was finished by Scott Barrett with Mo’unga adding the extras to lead 42-0. Not only did Scott, Jordie, and Beauden Barrett become the first trio of brothers to start for New Zealand and were only the second trio of brothers to start in a World Cup match after the Tongan Vunipola brothers in 1995, but all three scored tries in the match.

The dam broke early in the second half as Shannon Frizell added another try and Mo’unga was perfect on the day with the boot to lead 49-0. The All Blacks have scored a point per minute.

A Beauden Barrett break was offloaded to Brad Weber for a try under the posts with Mo’unga slotting a chip shot, 56-0.

The All Blacks added a ninth try after a scrum with Mo’unga offloading to Brad Weber for a brace with Mo’unga slotting his ninth kick to lead 63-0.

The All Blacks scored the most points so far at the 2019 Rugby World Cup and became the second team after Scotland to shutout an opponent at this year’s tournament.

Canada had to defend for much of the match and as they tired during the second half, the All Blacks were able to exploit gaps in the defense.

Ardie Savea becomes the first player to wear goggles at a Rugby World Cup after he entered the match from the bench.

DTH Van Der Merwe tied Rod Snow and Jamie Cudmore with his 14th World Cup start for Canada.

With the win, New Zealand improves to 2-0 in Pool B and is in second place in the Pool with 9 points, with Scotland topping the Pool with 10. South Africa, in third with 5 points, plays Italy next on Friday.

After two rounds, Italy tops Pool B with 10 points, New Zealand has 9, South Africa 5, with Canada and Namibia with 0.

Squads & Match Preview

New Zealand: 1. Atu Moli 2. Liam Coltman 3. Angus Ta’avao 4. Patrick Tuipulotu 5. Scott Barrett 6. Shannon Frizell 7. Matt Todd 8. Kieran Read (capt.) 9. TJ Perenara 10. Richie Mo’unga 11. Rieko Ioane 12. Sonny Bill Williams 13. Jack Goodhue 14. Jordie Barrett 15. Beauden Barrett 16. Codie Taylor 17. Ofa Tuungafasi 18. Nepo Laulala 19. Samuel Whitelock 20. Ardie Savea 21. Brad Weber 22. Ryan Crotty 23. Ben Smith

Canada: 1. Djustice Sears-Duru 2. Eric Howard 3. Cole Keith 4. Evan Olmstead 5. Conor Keys 6. Lucas Rumball 7. Matt Heaton 8. Tyler Ardron (capt.) 9. Gordon McRorie 10. Peter Nelson 11. DTH Van Der Merwe 12. Ciaran Hearn 13. Conor Trainor 14. Jeff Hassler 15. Patrick Parfrey 16. Andrew Quattrin 17. Hubert Buydens 18. Jake Ilnicki 19. Michael Sheppard 20. Josh Larsen 21. Phil Mack 22. Taylor Paris 23. Andrew Coe

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant