2019 Rugby World Cup: New Zealand vs Canada

New Zealand faces Canada in a Pool B match at Oita Stadium, Oita Prefecture on Wednesday 2 October. Kickoff is at 19:15 local (06:15 ET).

In Canada, every match of the Rugby World Cup 2019 is LIVE on TSN. In the U.S., the match may be viewed on NBC Sports Gold on-demand as part of an RWC subscription package.

In round one, Italy defeated Canada 48-7, while New Zealand defeated South Africa 23-13.


Canada coach Kingsley Jones has made six changes to his starting line-up for the Pool B match against New Zealand.

Djustice Sears-Duru, who won his 50th cap in the opening match against Italy,  will be pared at prop with Cole Keith. Evan Olmstead will be at lock and Matt Heaton at flanker.

Conor Trainor will pair with Ciaran Hearn as centers. They replace Nick Blevins and Ben Lesage, who suffered tournament ending injuries against Italy.

DTH van der Merwe can join Brian Lima, Gareth Thomas, Brian O’Driscoll and Adam Ashley-Cooper as the only players to score at least one try in four World Cups. He also becomes the player with the most RWC starts for Canada (14) and joint-most RWC appearances.

Reserve additions include Andrew Quattrin, Phil Mack, and Taylor Paris.

New Zealand

Scott, Jordie, and Beauden Barrett will become the first trio of brothers to start for New Zealand when the All Blacks face Canada. They are only the second trio of brothers to start in a World Cup match after the Tongan Vunipola brothers in 1995.

New Zealand Head Coach Steve Hansen made 11 changes to the starting XV from the squad who beat South Africa in their World Cup opener. Only full-back Beauden Barrett, his brother Scott in the second row, fly-half Richie Mo’unga and the captain and No.8 Kieran Read, return as starters.

Read and inside-center Sonny Bill Williams are the only two starters in Wednesday’s squad who played against Canada the last time the teams met, at Rugby World Cup 2011.

Rieko Ioane was recalled to the team and is the youngest player on the All Blacks squad.


New Zealand: 1. Atu Moli 2. Liam Coltman 3. Angus Ta’avao 4. Patrick Tuipulotu 5. Scott Barrett 6. Shannon Frizell 7. Matt Todd 8. Kieran Read (capt.) 9. TJ Perenara 10. Richie Mo’unga 11. Rieko Ioane 12. Sonny Bill Williams 13. Jack Goodhue 14. Jordie Barrett 15. Beauden Barrett 16. Codie Taylor 17. Ofa Tuungafasi 18. Nepo Laulala 19. Samuel Whitelock 20. Ardie Savea 21. Brad Weber 22. Ryan Crotty 23. Ben Smith

Canada: 1. Djustice Sears-Duru 2. Eric Howard 3. Cole Keith 4. Evan Olmstead 5. Conor Keys 6. Lucas Rumball 7. Matt Heaton 8. Tyler Ardron (capt.) 9. Gordon McRorie 10. Peter Nelson 11. DTH Van Der Merwe 12. Ciaran Hearn 13. Conor Trainor 14. Jeff Hassler 15. Patrick Parfrey 16. Andrew Quattrin 17. Hubert Buydens 18. Jake Ilnicki 19. Michael Sheppard 20. Josh Larsen 21. Phil Mack 22. Taylor Paris 23. Andrew Coe

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant