2019 Rugby World Cup: South Africa vs Namibia

South Africa will meet Namibia in a Pool B match at City of Toyota Stadium, Aichi Prefecture, Toyota City on September 28. Kickoff is at 18:45 local  (5:45 ET). In the U.S., the match may be viewed on NBC Sports Gold on-demand as part of an RWC subscription package.

In their opening matches, South Africa lost to New Zealand 23-13, while Namibia also lost to Italy 47-22. Italy tops the standings after two bonus-point wins with 10 points, the All Blacks have 4, and Argentina has 1.

South Africa Head Coach Rassie Erasmus has made thirteen changes in their starters with 38-year-old hooker Schalk Brits captaining the side at No. 8. Only wing Makazole Mamimpi and outside center Lukhanyo Am have been retained.

South Africa will be looking for speed around the pitch, as well as a bonus-point win.

Center Jesse Kriel, who had a hamstring injury against New Zealand, is rested.

Not considered through injury is center Jesse Kriel. Having suffered a hamstring injury against New Zealand he is instead targeting fitness for South Africa’s subsequent pool matches against Italy, and Canada.

Namibia coach Phil Davies ten changes in the starting line-up who lost 47-22 to Italy last Sunday. Only captain Tjiuee Uanivi, Cliven Loubser, JC Greyling, Chad Plato, and Johan Tromp return. This is the second-highest number of changes they have made between RWC matches with 11 made against Argentina at Rugby World Cup 2015.

Peter John Walters, who became the first player since 2011 to make his test debut for Namibia in a World Cup match when he entered against Italy as a reserve, will start at inside-center and Eugene Jantjies will extend the Welwitschias’ all-time appearances record to 68.

AJ De Klerk is in the starting XV of a World Cup match for the first time. He has previously featured in three, all coming off the bench.


South Africa: 1 Tendai Mtawarira 2 Bongi Mbonambi 3 Vincent Koch 4 RG Snyman 5 Lood de Jager 6 Francois Louw 7 Kwagga Smith 8 Schalk Brits (capt.) 9 Herschel Jantjies 10 Elton Jantjies 11 Makazole Mapimpi 12 Frans Steyn 13 Lukhanyo Am 14 S’bu Nkosi 15 Warrick Gelant 16 Steven Kitshoff 17 Thomas du Toit 18 Eben Etzebeth 19 Siya Kolisi 20 Franco Mostert 21 Cobus Reinach 22 Damian de Allende 23 Cheslin Kolbe

Namibia: 1. Desiderius Sethie 2. Louis van der Westhuizen 3. AJ De Klerk 4. Johan Retief 5. Tjiuee Uanivi (capt.) 6. Thomasau Forbes 7. Muharua Katjijeko 8. Adriaan Booysen 9. Eugene Jantjies 10. Cliven Loubser 11. Lesley Klim 12. Peter John Walters 13 JC Greyling 14. Chad Plato 15. Johan Tromp 16. Obert Nortje 17. Andre Rademeyer 18. Johannes Coetzee 19. Prince Gaoseb 20. Janco Venter 21. Wian Conradie 22. Helarius Axasman Kisting 23. Johan Deysel

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant