Ireland Gains Bonus-Point Win Over Scotland

First ranked Ireland defeated seventh-ranked Scotland 27-3 in a Pool A match on 22 September at International Stadium Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture, Yokohama City. Ireland held a 19-3 lead at the break. The match may be viewed in the U.S. on NBC Sports Gold on-demand as part of an RWC subscription package.

Match Recap

Ireland struck first after a break by lock Iain Henderson that was finished from close range by another lock, James Ryan. Jonathan Sexton then added the extras to lead 7-0.

Ireland extended the lead after a lineout from close range with captain Rory Best scoring, 12-0. Scotland answered back with a penalty goal by Greig Laidlaw to cut the lead to 12-3.

Following a lineout by Scotland, Tommy Seymour could not secure a pass and Garry Ringrose kicked the ball forward placing Scotland under pressure. A deflected ball off the post padding had Stuart Hogg grounding the ball in-goal for a 5-meter Ireland scrum. Ireland capitalized spinning the ball out to Tadhg Furlong for a try, which was converted by Connor Murray to push the lead to 19-3.

Ireland had another attack by Jacob Stockdale, who stepped Stuart Hogg, but a Sam Johnson saved a potential try.

Three minutes prior to the break, Hamish Watson left the game after sustaining a knee injury during contact with Cian Healy at the breakdown. He was replaced by Fraser Brown.

Second Half

The torrential rains came during the second half. This created a challenge with ball handling.

Scotland had an early attack advancing the ball to within 7-meters of in-goal before losing the ball forward. Ireland then continued the momentum that they established during the first half, attacking the blindside with Andrew Conway evading a Finn Russell tackle for a bonus point try. That left the score at 24-3 after Connor Murray was unable to convert.

Ireland added a penalty goal by replacement flyhalf Jack Carty for a 27-3 lead.

Scotland then attacked down the wide channel with a break by Stuart Hogg. Ireland’s Tadhg Beirne was penalized at the breakdown for intensional slowly down the ball and sent to the bin. Scotland could not capitalize on Ireland being down a man.

Ireland claimed a bonus-point win to open the RWC, gaining 5 points in the process in the standing. They will play host Japan next on 28 September in a battle of Pool leaders. Scotland will try to gain their first win on 30 September against Samoa.

Player of the Match honors went to CJ Stander for Ireland. Scotland’s WP Nel set a new Scotland RWC record with 16 consecutive tackles without a miss.

Squads & Match Preview

Ireland: 1 Cian Healy 2 Rory Best (capt.) 3 Tadhg Furlong 4 Iain Henderson 5 James Ryan 6 Peter O’Mahony 7 Josh Van der Flier 8 CJ Stander 9 Conor Murray 10 Jonathan Sexton 11 Jacob Stockdale 12 Bundee Aki 13 Garry Ringrose 14 Andrew Conway 15 Jordan Larmour 16 Niall Scannell 17 David Kilcoyne 18 Andrew Porter 19 Tadhg Beirne 20 Jack Conan 21 Luke McGrath 22 Jack Carty 23 Chris Farrell

Scotland: 1. Allan Dell 2. Stuart McInally (capt.) 3. Willem Nel 4. Grant Gilchrist 5. Jonny Gray 6. John Barclay 7. Hamish Watson 8. Ryan Wilson 9. Greig Laidlaw 10. Finn Russell 11. Sean Maitland 12. Sam Johnson 13. Duncan Taylor 14. Tommy Seymour 15. Stuart Hogg 16. Fraser Brown 17. Gordon Reid 18. Simon Berghan 19. Scott Cummings 20. Blade Thomson 21. Ali Price 22. Chris Harris 23. Darcy Graham

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England) Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzere (France) & Alexandre Ruiz TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant