2019 Rugby World Cup: Australia vs Fiji

Sixth-ranked Australia opens their 2019 Rugby World Cup against #9 Fiji on 21 September in a Pool D match at the Sapporo Dome. Kickoff is a 13:45 local (0:45 ET). In the U.S. the match may be viewed on NBC Sports Gold by those with a subscription.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheikahas selected a starting side that is the same, except for the inclusion of David Pocock at flanker, as the side that defeated New Zealand in Perth last month for the opening Bledisloe Cup Test.

The starting side boasts 600 caps of Test experience between them with a further 436 caps amongst the reserves.

Australia met Fiji in the opening clash of the 2015 Rugby World Cup when the Wallabies prevailed 28-13 at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Head Coach John McKee has selected a powerful and experienced Flying Fijians side to open Fiji’s 2019 Rugby World Cup at the Sapporo Dome this Saturday.

The forward pack consists of Campese Ma’afu, Sam Matavesi and Peni Ravai in the front row, Tevita Cavubati and Leone Nakarawa at locks, Captain Dominiko Waqaniburotu and Peceli Yato on the flanks and Viliame Mata at number 8.

Frank Lomani and Ben Volavola will push the play from the halfbacks, supported by Kini Murimurivalu at full-back. Lepani Botia and Waisea Nayacalevu will bring a strong ball carrying and a defensive game to the contest in the centers, with Semi Radradra and Josua Tuisova in the wings to round out a fast-paced, physical and dynamic Flying Fijians side to face the Wallabies.

The team also includes World Cup debutants Veremalua Vugakoto, Eroni Mawi, Tevita Ratuva, Mosese Voka and Alivereti Veitokani who are reserves alongside Manasa Saulo, Nikola Matawalu and veteran Vereniki Goneva.

Photo: FijiRugby.com


Australia: 1. Scott Sio (59 Tests) 2. Tolu Latu (15 Tests) 3. Allan Alaalatoa (33 Tests)  4. Izack Rodda (21 Tests) 5. Rory Arnold (22 Tests) 6. David Pocock (78 Tests) 7. Michael Hooper (c) (95 Tests) 8. Isi Naisarani (4 Tests) 9. Nic White (26 Tests) 10. Christian Lealiifano (22 Tests) 11. Marika Koroibete (24 Tests) 12. Samu Kerevi (VC) (29 Tests) 13. James O’Connor (48 Tests) 14. Reece Hodge (37 Tests) 15. Kurtley Beale (87 Tests) 16. Jordan Uelese (4 Tests) 17. James Slipper (91 Tests) 18. Sekope Kepu (106 Tests) 19. Adam Coleman (34 Tests) 20. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (16 Tests) 21. Will Genia (105 Tests) 22. Matt To’omua (47 Tests) 23. Dane Haylett-Petty (33 Tests)

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant