2019 Oktoberfest Sevens Squads & Matches

The Oktoberfest Sevens will be held in Munich, Germany at the former Olympic Stadium on September 21-22, 2019. There will be eight national teams participating and all matches in the USA will be streamed on florugby.com/

The USA will face Fiji in Pool play at 8 am ET on September 21. They then will play Germany and England later that day. Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa, and France will comprise Pool A.

Knockout stages begin on September 22 at 5 AM ET. Details are available at oktoberfest7s.com/zeitplan.

Oktoberfest Sevens Squads

Pool A: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, France

Pool B: USA, Fiji, Germany, England

Pool A

Australia: Nick Malouf (C), Jesse Parahi, Tim Anstee, Joe Pincus, Lachlan Anderson, Tom Cusack, Simon Kennewell, Josh Turner, Josh Coward, Ben O’Donnell, Rod Davies, Matt Hood, Jack Maddocks

New Zealand: 1. Trael Joass 2. Tim Mikkelson 3. Tone Ng Shiu 4. Amanaki Nicole 5. Luke Masirewa 6. Dan Fransen * 7. Sam Dickson 8. Andrew Knewstubb 9. Regan Ware 10. Ngarohi McGarvey-Black 11. Rewita Biddle * 12. Sione Molia (*debut)

South Africa: 1. Chris Dry 2. Ryan Oosthuizen 3. Impi Visser 4. Zain Davids 5. James Murphy 6. Mfundo Ndhlovu 7. Branco du Preez 8. Selvyn Davids 9. Kurt-Lee Arendse 10. Dewald Human 11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (c) 12. Stedman Gans

France: BELLOT Dorian (Stade Rochelais), BENARD Alexandre (FFR), COLOMBET Mathias (Section Paloise), DUMORTIER Ethan (Lyon OU), EPEE Nelson (Stade Toulousain), IRAGUHA William (FFR), MARTOCQ Guillaume (Aviron Bayonnais), MORO Victor (US Colomiers), SEPHO Jordan (Etang Salé Rugby)
TIXIER Mathieu (AS Clermont Auvergne), TROTTA Thibaut (FC Grenoble), ZEGHDAR Antoine (US Oyonnax)

Pool B

Germany & England squads have not been announced.

USA: 1. Ben Broselle (USA Sevens Residency) 2. Jake Lachina (Army West Point) 3. Corey Jones (NAV Sevens) 4. Gavan Morrison (RUNY / Old Blue) 5. Anthony Welmers (USA Sevens Residency) 6. Harley Wheeler (Rugby ATL) 7. Naima Fualaau (USA Sevens Residency) 8. Cody Melphy (C) (USA Sevens Residency) 9. Lauina Falatea (USA Sevens Residency) 10. Maceo Brown (USA Sevens Residency) 11. Marcus Tupuola (USA Sevens Residency) 12. Aren Marten (Kansas City Blues)

Fiji: 1 Menausi Qiodravu 2 Apenisa Cakaubalavu 3 Asaeli Tuivuaka 4 Isoa Tabu 5 Anasa Qaranivalu 6 Kavekini Tabu 7 Napolioni Ratu 8 Terio Tamani 9 Osea Natoga 10 Kaminieli Rasaku 11 Livai Ikanikoda 12 Tevita Mociu 13 Vuniona Vukinavanua

Germany: Anjo Buckmann, Bastian Himmer, Carlos Soteraz-Merz, Claude Brechenmacher, Fabian Heimpel, Jonathan Dawe, Kain Rix, Manuel Wilhelm, Marvin Dieckmann, Max Calitz, Niklas Hohl, Sebastian Fromm, Tim Lichtenberg, Tonio Krüger

England: Seniors: Dan Bibby, Tom Bowen, Phil Burgess, Alex Davis, Richard De Carpentier, Will Edwards, Mike Ellery, Harry Glover, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Charlton Kerr, Tom Mitchell (C), Will Muir, Dan Norton, Ethan Waddleton. Academy: Tom Emery, Ben Harris, Will Hendy, Alfie Johnson

Match Schedule

September 21 Pool Matches Begin 14:00 Local (8 am ET)

  1. B: Fiji v USA
  2. B: Germany v France
  3. A: England v Australia
  4. A: New Zealand v South Africa
  5. B: Fiji v France
  6. B: Germany v USA
  7. A: England v South Africa
  8. A: New Zealand v Australia
  9. B: Germany v Fiji
  10. B: USA v France
  11. A: Australia v South Africa
  12. A: New Zealand v England

September 22 Knockout Matches Begin 11:00 Local (5 am ET)

  • 13 Plate SF A3vB4
  • 14 Plate SF B3v44
  • 15 Cup SF A1vB2
  • 16 Cup SF B1v A2
  • 17 Final 7th Place
  • 18 Final 5th Place
  • 19 Bronze Final
  • 20 Cup Final

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant