USA Rugby Men’s Collegiate All-Americans Edge Canada University All-Stars

The Men’s Collegiate All-Stars XVs edged Canada University All-Stars 23-22 prior to the USA Men’s National Team test against Canada at Infinity Park in Glendale, CO on July 27.

St. Mary’s College players Tavite Lopeti, Sean Yacoubian,  Payton Telea-ilalio, and Ronan Murphy each scored tries.

The Men’s Collegiate All-Americans scored early with a penalty kick by Duncan Van Shalkwyk, 3-0. After some back and forth play, the Canadians Josh Engelbrecht scored a try to take a 5-3 lead.

The USA answered back following a scrum with Tavite Lopeti try to regain the lead 8-5. The All-Americans then needed to defend while playing a man down as Conner Mooneyham was sent to the bin. The USA pushed ahead with Sean Yacoubian driving over in-goal for a 13-5 lead at the break.

Early in the second half, Canada cut the lead to 13-12 after a try by Stephen Martinez. A yellow card by Canada the led to a try by Payton Telea-ilalio, 18-12.

Canada responded with a converted try by Mitch Richardson to reclaim the lead 19-18. They then pushed the lead to 22-18 after a penalty goal by Max Radcliffe.

Following a penalty, the USA attacked from a lineout inside the Canadian 22-meters. In the 81st minute after several picks, Ronan Murphy barrelled over for the winning try. The USA men’s Collegiate All-Americans escaped with a 23-22 win over the Canadian University All-Stars.

USA Collegiate All-Americans:  1 Payton Telea, 2 Jack Manzo, 3 Kareem Odeh, 4 Matt Gordon, 5 Bronson Teles, 6 Ronan Murphy, 7 Nic Mirhashem, 8 Wesley White, 9 Harry Masters, 10 Duncan van Schalkwyk, 11 Cristian Rodriguez, 12 Mitch Wilson, 13 Tavite Lopeti, 14 Conner Mooneyham, 15 Troy Lockyear 16 Robert Irimescu, 17 Julian Montes, 18 Alec McDonnell, 19 Tanner Pope, 20 Tommy Clark, 21 Michael de Waal, 22 Santago Mascolo, 23 Mike Dabulas, 24 Calvin Gentry, 25 Thorne O’Connell, 26 Sean Yacoubian

Canadian University All-Stars: 1 Pat Lynott, 2 Jack McRogers, 3 Stephen Martinez, 4 Izzak Kelly, 5 Nolan Howell, 6 Trevor Helgason, 7 James O’Neill, 8 Marcello Wainwright, 9 Riley DiNardo, 10 Josh Engelbrecht, 11 Sam Ibbotson, 12 Mitch Richardson, 13 Cully Quirke, 14 Jack McCarthy, 15 Ethan Hager 16 Sam Turner, 17 Julian Alexander, 18 Conor O’Flaherty, 19 Matt Fish, 20 Max Radcliffe, 21 Connor Byron, 22 Flynn Heyes, 23 Charles DeBove

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant