USA Rugby Women’s Eagles Super Series Squad

USA Rugby Head Coach Rob Cain has named the squad for the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 which will be held June 28 to July 14 in San Diego, CA, and broadcast LIVE on

Tickets for Women’s Rugby Super Series featuring No. 1 New Zealand, No. 2 England, No. 3 Canada, No. 4 France and No. 5 United States are available at

The USA squad consists of 28 players with another seven injury reserves. Up to nine new caps may be awarded.

The squad includes five players from the USA Women’s Sevens Residency program including Ashlee Byrge, Eti Haungatau, Alev Kelter, Kris Thomas, and Hope Rogers.

The squad includes three Collegiate players in Dartmouth College’s Emily Henrich, who won the 2019 MA Sorenson Award, Olivia Ortiz from Davenport University, and Joyce Taufa from Lindenwood University. The remaining players are Club athletes, most having played in the Women’s Premier League. Neariah “Nene” Persinger is unattached, while Kristin Sommer played with the Harlequins in the English Women’s Premier League, as well as with the Seattle Saracens.

The Women’s Eagles will assemble on June 22 in San Diego, CA for the two-week Women’s Rugby Super Series featuring No. 1 New Zealand, No. 2 England, No. 3 Canada and No. 4 France. The first four rounds will be hosted at the U.S. Olympic Training Site in Chula Vista with the final round taking place at University of San Diego’s Torero Stadium. Two matches will be played per round.

Ticket packages are available at with prices starting at only $69 for all 10 matchups. Single-day tickets are also available starting at only $19. Games will be broadcast LIVE on in the U.S.


Katy Augustyn Hooker Berkeley All Blues 33
Bui Baravilala Center San Diego Surfers 6
Catie Benson Prop Life West Gladiatrix 17
Amy Naber-Bonté Center Life West Gladiatrix 1
Stacey Bridges Second row Beantown Rugby 36
Ashlee Byrge Scrumhalf USA Women’s Sevens Residency 0
Elizabeth Cairns Back row Life West Gladiatrix 8
Gabriella Cantorna Flyhalf Glendale Merlins 3
Jennine Duncan Back Three Seattle Saracens 2
Fane “Eti” Haungatau Center USA Women’s Sevens Residency 0
Emily Henrich Center Dartmouth College 2
Katana Howard Flyhalf Twin City Amazons 0
Charli Jacoby Prop Chicago North Shore 0
Nick James Prop Houston Athletic 6
Rachel Johnson Back Row Oregon Rugby Sports Union 3
Alev Kelter Center USA Women’s Sevens Residency 9
Joanna Kitlinski Hooker Glendale Merlins 8
Bulou Mataitoga Fullback Berkeley All Blues 0
Olivia Ortiz Scrumhalf Davenport University 0
Neariah “Nene” Persinger Wing Unattached 0
Hope Rogers Hooker/Prop USA Women’s Sevens Residency 25
Asinate Serevi Back Row/ Second Row Scion Rugby 2
Kristine Sommer Flanker Seattle Saracens
Harlequins (ENG)
Nicole Strasko Second Row / Back Row Life West Gladiatrix 3
Joyce Taufa Back Row Lindenwood University 3
Kris Thomas Wing USA Women’s Sevens Residency 7
Alycia Washington Second Row New York Rugby 17
Kate Zackary (C) Back Row San Diego Surfers 9


Tess Feury Wing Morris 6
Megan Foster Fullback San Diego Surfers 5
Sam Luther Second row Glendale Merlins 0
Christiane Pheil Back row Atlanta Harlequins 8
Shamira Robles Back Three New York Rugby 0
Kimber Rozier Center Beantown 31
Carly Waters Halfback New York Rugby 2


General Manager | Emilie Bydwell
Head Coach | Rob Cain
Assistant Coach | Jamie Burke
Assistant Coach | Kate Daley
Assistant Coach Rich Ashfield
Coach/Team Manager | Jenny Lui
Head Strength & Conditioning Coach | Ian Jones
Assistant Strength & Conditioning Coach | Michaela Staniford
Head Performance Analyst | Dave Gardner
Team Doctor | Terrence Cronin
Athletic Trainer | Katherine Henry
Athletic Trainer | Danielle Allen


*Times reflect PST, Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

Friday, June 28

  • England vs USA 1 PM
  • Canada vs New Zealand 4 PM
  • France BYE


Tuesday, July 2

  • France vs Canada 2:15 PM
  • New Zealand vs USA 5:15 PM
  • England BYE


Saturday, July 6

  • France vs New Zealand 2:15 PM
  • Canada vs England 5:15 PM

Wednesday, July 10

  • England vs France 2:15 PM
  • Canada vs USA 5:15 PM
  • New Zealand BYE


Super Series Final Round – Sunday, July 14, Torero Stadium

  • New Zealand vs England 1 PM
  • France vs USA 4 PM
  • Canada BYE

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant