Old Glory DC Concludes Exhibition Season Beating Ontario Blues

Old Glory DC concluded its four-match 2019 exhibition season on June 9 at Cardinal Stadium on the Catholic University campus with a  29-15 win against the Ontario Blues. Old Glory DC’s record improved to 2-2. Old Glory DC will be joining the Major League Rugby Eastern Conference in 2020.

Match Recap

Old Glory DC struck first with a Josh Brown after an Ontario Blues penalty. Nick Kuhl’s conversion was wide. The lead was extended after an offload by Mo Katz to Ryan Burroughs resulted in a try in the left corner. Kuhl slotted the kick for a 12-0 lead.

The Ontario Blues answered back after Josh Bald gathered a loose ball and sliced through defenders for a try to cut the lead to 12-5.

During the first half, Old Glory’s defensive line speed was keeping the pressure on the Blues. The team was also impacting the breakdown with Ontario not being able to use a quick ball.

Second Half

The Ontario Blues had the first chance at points after a penalty by Old Glory. The kick however was wide, allowing Old Glory to attack.

The Ontario Blues answered back after a turnover with Ethan Hager finding a gap for a try under the posts with Palij slotting the conversion to level the match at 12 all. The Blues took their first lead of the match 15-12 after a penalty kick in the 55th minute.

Old Glory attacked from a lineout with Josh Brown powering forward and Khalid Williams finishing for a try with Kuhl converting to reclaim the lead, 19-15. John Sage took a skip pass by John Davis for a try in the left corner to extend Old Glory’s lead to 24-15 with 8 minutes remaining.

Old Glory DC sealed the match with a pop pass from Oisen O’Neill to Vetekina Malafu for a try in the right corner, 29-15.


Old Glory DC: 1 Jack iscaro 2 Mo Katz 3 Dante Lopresti 4 Ayemere Oiyemonlan 5 Ryan Smith 6 Tyler Barberi 7 Dacoda Worth 8 Josh Brown (C) 9 Michael Reid 10 Chris Kunkel 11 Ryan Burroughs 12 Darien Pickett 13 John Sage 14 Vetekina Malafu 15 Nick Kuhl (VC) 16 Oisin O’Neill 17 Khalid Williams 18 Cullen Barelka 19 Mason Mcilwee 20 Guy Lopresti 21 Sean Hartig 22 Selby Niumataiwalu 23 John Davis + Acting Head Coach Andrew Douglas

Ontario Blues: 1 Jeff wood 2 Daniel Cooper 3 Emmerson Prior 4 Charles Oulton 5 Hank Stevenson 6 John Stoneham 7 George Manoukas 8 Matt Fish 9 Nate Roberts 10 Nathan Boeyonga 11 Miguel Palij 12 Mitch Voralek 13 Josh Bald 14 Jordan Henstra 15 Paul Schroeder 16 Owen Lavado 17 Graeme Francolini 18 Aaron Sommerhalder 19 Levi  Konecny 20 Zack Zorbas 21 Andrew Wilson 22 Steve Commerford 23 Ethan Hager  

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant