Old Glory DC Hosts Scottish U20s

Old Glory DC hosts the Scottish Rugby Under-20s at Cardinal Stadium at Catholic University, Washington, D.C. on Monday, May 27 with the kickoff at 7 pm. The team opened their exhibition season against Shannon RFC losing 26-22.

Preceding the match at 4:30 pm is a girl’s high school rugby match between Fort Hunt and the Maryland Exiles.

Old Glory DC will conclude their home exhibition season against USA Rugby South on June 1, and the Ontario Blues on June 9.

The Scottish U20s squad will face OLD Glory DC in preparation for the World Rugby U20 Championship, 4-22 June 2019 in Argentina.

Math Comments

Old Glory DC Visiting Head Coach Andrew Douglas has made seven changes in the starters from last week’s match against Shannon RFC. Khaldi Williams and Mo Katz join tighthead prop Dante Lopresti at loosehead prop and hooker, respectively. Ayemere Oiyemhonian joins Tyler Barberi at lock with Guy Lopresti paring with Dacoda Worth and captain Josh Brown in the back row.

In the backs,  Sean Hartig slides into scrumhalf pairing with flyhalf John Stapleton. Chris Kunkel joins Zack Forro as centers and John Sage moves into the back three with Vetekina Malafu and Nick Kuhl.

Cullen Barelka, Chase Jollie, Sam Morris, Ryan Smith, Mike Fletcher, Tevita Maitavuki, Darren Pickett, Blake Carroll, and Pita Maola join the reserves for the first time.

The Scottish Rugby U20s side for the World Cup U20s has been announced and are listed under Squads. The matchday starters have not been announced yet and the article will be updated when the information is available.

OLD Glory DC and Scotland U20s Squads

Old Glory DC: 1 Khalid William 2 Mo Katz 3 Dante Lopresti 4 Ayemere Oiyemhonian 5 Tyler Barberi 6 Dacoda Worth 7 Guy Lopresti 8 Josh Brown (C) 9 Sean Hartig 10 John Stapleton 11 Vetekina Malafu 12 Chris Kunkel 13 Zack Zorro 14 John Sage 15 Nick Kuhl (VC) 16 Cullen Barelka 17 Chase Jollie 18 Sam Morris 19 Mason Mcllvee 20 Ryan Smith 21 Mike Fletcher 22 Michael Reid 23 Tevita Maitavuki 24  Darren Pickett 25 Blake Carroll 26 Pita Maola + Visiting Head Coach Andrew Douglas

Scottland U20s: TBA Connor Boyle, Captain. Head Coach Carl Hogg

Scottish U20s Squad World Rugby U20 Championship (*Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy supported player)

Forwards (16)

  • Andrew Nimmo* – Glasgow Hawks
  • Angus Fraser* – Glasgow Hawks
  • Cristen Van Niekerk – Lions
  • Cameron Henderson* – Stirling County
  • Connor Boyle* – Watsonians
  • Euan McLaren* – Ayr
  • Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks
  • Evan Johnson – Racing 92
  • Jack Mann* Edinburgh Accles
  • Mark Wilson* – Melrose
  • Marshall Sykes* – Ayr
  • Murphy Walker* – Stirling County
  • Ross Bundy – Stirling County
  • Teddy Leatherbarrow – Sale Sharks
  • Tom Marshall – Newcastle Falcons
  • Will Hurd – Cardiff Metropolitan University

Backs (12)

  • Cameron Anderson – Wasps
  • Grant Hughes* – Stirling County
  • Jack Blain* (Herlot’s)
  • Lomond McPherson – Watsonians
  • Ollie Smith – Ayr
  • Matt Davidson – London Scottish
  • Murray Scott – Watsonians
  • Nathan Chamberlain – Bristol Bears
  • Roan Froswick* – Currie Chieftains
  • Robbie McCallum – Complutense Cisnerosi
  • Rory McMichael* – Herlot’s
  • Ross Thompson* – Glasgow Hawks

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant