Old Glory DC Comeback Short as Shannon RFC Wins

Sunday, May 19 was a special day for Old Glory DC. The team opened their 2019 exhibition season against Shannon RFC from Ireland coming back from a 26-8 deficit at the break in the 26-22 loss.

There were two preliminary matches. The first was a Men’s Division 1 match between the Washington Irish and Baltimore Chesapeake and the second match the Honor Cup Men’s Final (Charitable Event Game for supporting the military, law enforcement, and fire/emergency rescue.)

Old Glory DC will play home matches against Scotland U20s on May 27, USA Rugby South on June 1, and the Ontario Blues on June 9.

Match Recap

Old Glory DC struck first with a penalty goal by Nick Kuhl for a 3-0 lead in the 3rd minute. Shannon then added a try by scrumhalf Arab Hehir in the corner for a 7-3 lead.

Shannon a penalty try and another after a loose ball was scooped up and a run of about 45 meters for a try under the posts. Jack O’Donnell then found a seam after a scrum for a try for a 26-0 lead.

Old Glory DC answered back with a try by Dante Lopresti in the 40th minute to cut the lead to 26-8 at the break.

The first half served as a wakeup call for Old Glory DC, who were playing their first exhibition season match. The team’s cohesion was improved during the second half and after Josh Brown went blind, an offload to Vetekina Malafu resulted in the try for the Flyin Hawaiian to cut the lead to 26-15 after Kuhl’s conversion.

In the 72nd minute, Dacoda Worth added another from close range with the conversion slotted, 22-26.

Old Glory DC attacked again, but Shannon held off the home team for the 26-22 victory.

Next Level Rugby: Old Glory DC vs Shannon

OLD Glory DC and Shannon RFC Squads Plus Preview

Old Glory DC: 1 Will Vakalahi 2 Oisin O’Neill 3 Dante Lopresti 4 Mason Mcllvee 5 Tyler Barberi 6 Dacoda Worth 7 Fred Wintermantel 8 Josh Brown (C) 9 Michael Reid 10 John Stapleton 11 Vetekina Malafu 12 Selby Niumataiwalu 13 Zack Zorro 14 Ryan Burroughs 15 Nick Kuhl (VC) Reserves: Khalid Williams, Sean Hartig, Mo Katz, John Sage, Ayemere Oiyemhonian, John Davis, Guy Lopresti

Shannon RFC:  1 Conor Glynn 2 Jordan Prenderville 3 Tony Cusack 4 Luke Moylan 5 Ronan Coffey (C) 6 Kelvin Brown 7 Charlie Carmody 8 Colm Heffernan 9 Arab Hehir 10 John Bateman 11 Eathon Moloney 12 Jack O’Donnell 13 Pa Ryan 14 Darren Gavin 15 Ben Daly 16 Adam Moloney 17 Ty Chan 18 Colin Deane 19 Odhran Ring 20 Shane Corbett 21 Richie Mullane 22 Fionn McGibney 23 Lee Nicholas 24 Evan Sargent

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant