San Diego Hosts Women’s Rugby Super Series

USA Rugby will host the Women’s Rugby Super Series from June 28 to July 14 with the world’s top five teams competing in a round-robin tournament in the greater San Diego area.

The Super Series will feature No. 1 New Zealand, No. 2 England, No. 3 Canada, No.4 France, and No. 5 United States. The tournament was last hosted by the United States in 2016 where Canada won the title and England claimed runner-up for the second consecutive cycle.

The Super Series is hosted in partnership with World Rugby and provides more exposure for the women’s game and provides athletes with much-needed playing time. Teams play each other once.

Two games will be played per day on June 28, July 2, July 6, July 10 and July 14. Each team will have a bye date, with the first four rounds taking place at the Elite Athlete Training Center, and the final round on July 14 happening at Torero Stadium.

USA Rugby General Manager of Women’s High Performance, Emilie Bydwell said: “We are very excited about the opportunity to host the return of the Women’s Super Series.  The timing of the event, duration, number of games and quality of competition aligns with our goals for the Women’s National Team. Further, World Rugby’s support and investment in this competition speak volumes of their commitment to improving High-Performance competition structures and quality of the top-end product of the Women’s Game.  This will arguably be one of the biggest events in women’s rugby in 2019 and having the USA as the host will generate a positive impact for our program, players and community.”

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “As part of the women’s strategic plan, accelerating the global development of women in rugby, one of the key strands is to increase the competitiveness of international rugby across the women’s game. As part of the plan, World Rugby’s high-performance program is committed to providing targeted investment and support in order to achieve this long-term objective.

“The Women’s Rugby Super Series is a fantastic competition that offers more quality playing opportunities and is set to be a thrilling tournament, where we look forward to the top five women’s international 15s teams competes for the Super Series title this summer.”

The match times and ticket information for the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 will be announced later. In the meantime, fans can sign up to be included in USA Rugby’s event presale list here. All matches will be broadcast LIVE on

Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 Schedule

Friday, June 28 – Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • Canada vs New Zealand
  • England vs USA

Tuesday, July 2 – Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • France vs Canada
  • New Zealand vs USA

Saturday, July 6 -Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • France vs New Zealand
  • Canada vs England

Wednesday, July 10 – Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • England vs France
  • Canada vs USA

Sunday, July 14 – San Diego State University’s Torero Stadium

  • France vs USA
  • New Zealand vs England

Other Articles

DJCoil Rugby articles by Doug Coil are also available on Facebook. Other Social Media sites to follow or subscribe include Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube for interviews.

About Author

North American Rugby News With A USA Slant